Nursing

ARCC Library webpage
ARCC Catalog LibrarySearch
Online Resources
Library Hours
  

---

Call the library:
Rapids Library: 763-433-1150
Cambridge Library: 763-433-1950

These books are available in both campus libraries.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2020

 

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021

 

The Chicago Manual of Style, by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017

 

Scientific Style and Format, by Council of Science Editors
ISBN: 9780226116495
Publication Date: 2014

Welcome to the ARCC Nursing subject guide. On this tab, you will find helpful information about writing and research for your nursing classes.

The second tab contains information about resources in our library and how to find them using LibrarySearch, the library catalog.

The third tab contains information about online resources, including scholarly journal databases and online credible sites for nursing research.

We live in a world of misinformation.

On the web, it can be a challenge to know what information is credible and accurate. You may have heard about the CRAAP test (more information here), which consists of criteria to help evaluate a website. To complement this strategy, digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield developed the SIFT method, which provides additional valuable strategies for online researchers.

SIFT, or the Four Moves:
S - Stop
I - Investigate the source
F - Find additional sources/better coverage
T - Trace Information back to the original context
Online Verification Skills - YouTube videos from Mike Caulfield

Additional guides to help you evaluate your sources:
Evaluating Resources (University of California, Berkeley)
Evaluating Information (American Library Association)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell University Library)
 

Tutors in the ARCC Writing Center can help you with citations and references.

ARCC Tutoring web page: http://www.anokaramsey.edu/resources/tutoring-services/
Email: writing.tutoring@anokaramsey.edu 

Looking for information about citing your sources? Different styles like APA, Chicago, and MLA will require you to format information and sources differently.

After using any of these resources, always double-check your citations against the most current published guide. Below you will find resources for the most commonly used citation styles from the style guide homepages, as well as, the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).

• APA - American Psychological Association style is most commonly used to cite sources within the sciences. APA Tutorial
• MLA - Modern Language Association style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
• CMS - Chicago Manual of Style covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation. CMS Quick Chart

Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL).

• OWL - APA Style Guide
• OWL - Chicago Manual of Style Guide
• OWL - MLA Style Guide

From the ARCC Student Conduct Code, "Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment or the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials."

Citing your sources in a bibliography is a required part of the research process. It allows others to verify your information and acknowledges the previous work of other researchers and writers.

Click here for a General Guide to Understanding Written Plagiarism 

 

 
Most books on nursing will be found in the RT section, but there are others in the RC and RD sections, as well as books on Anatomy and Physiology in the QM and QP sections. The library also has practice test books for the TEAS and NCLEX tests and eBooks on nursing, available online, on or off campus. You can look all of these up using Library Search. Ask a librarian for help finding items.
 

Print copies of nursing textbooks are available at the library circulation desks in our Course Reserve section and may be checked out for up to two days. Course Reserves are books and items that instructors have asked us to reserve for certain classes. Books on reserve generally must be used in the Library, unless an instructor has allowed a longer checkout time. Ask a librarian if you're looking for one of these.

To find items in the library using Library Search, type the title of a book you want, an author's name, or even just a couple of keywords related to your topic. Using the option ARCC + Online will find books and videos on our shelves plus streaming videos, ebooks, and articles. If you want to limit your search to print books or DVDs only, use the dropdown to select ARCC Libraries before you search.

Then use the options in the menu on the left side under "Modify my results" to focus your search.

Click on a title to get more information about the item, to find the location of the item, or to request it. 

If we don't have the items you need, we can request them from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan (ILL). There's no cost, and it's easy and convenient. 

If you want help finding or requesting books, just ask! Call or email us at ARCC.Library@anokaramsey.edu. We're happy to help!

Articles from scholarly journals can be found in library databases.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.


Alt Health Watch
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.


*NEW* CINAHL Complete
The core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL tutorial here 


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly and professional publications across all medical disciplines. Also features AHFS Consumer Medication Information.

EBSCO MegaFile
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications. Covers every area of academic study and general interest subject area.


*NEW* ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Articles from academic and trade publications in nursing and allied health professions. Includes a video library of clinical trainings in nursing.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is your online source for credible health information.


 Medical Library Association - provides links to useful health-related websites for patients and health professionals.


 MedlinePlus is an online health information resource covering over 700 diseases, symptoms and treatment options.

 National Institute on Drug Abuse is the lead federal agency supporting scientific research on drug use and addiction. 

National Institutes of Health (NIH)  is a federal medical research agency making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

PubMed contains more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.


Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.