Nursing

Welcome

Welcome to the Erickson Library's Nursing resource guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additonal information with print and online resources.

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!

Practice Tests

Learning Express Library offers free practice tests including the NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN. Do a search for your exam to find resouces like practice exams, flashcards, power practices and ebooks.

You will need to create an account (it is free) specifically for the Learning Express Library database.

Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. You will need to create your own account with Learning Express Library to access content.

Nursing Background Information

Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.

A few keywords to try: Registered Nurse, Health Care, Nursing Specialities, Healthcare Occupations, Licensed Practical Nurse

Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.

Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-5:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Teaching and Simulation

Designing and creating a culture of care for students and faculty: the Chamberlain University College of Nursing model (MAIN RT84.5 .D47 2018)

Innovative Strategies in Teaching Nursing: Exemplars of Optimal Learning Outcomes (Main RT71 .I566 2021)

A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Transitioning to an Academic Role: Strategies to Jumpstart Your Career in Education and Research (available online)

Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educatiors: Making It Real (available online)

Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator: The Complete Guide to Best Practice in Teaching, Evaluation, and Curriculum Development (available online)

Leadership

Advanced Practice Nursing: Core Concepts for Professional Role Development (available online)

Innovation Handbook: A Nurse Leader's Guide to Transforming Nursing (available online)

Nursing Leadership During Crisis: Insights Guiding Leaders from the COVID-19 Pandemic (available online)

Road to Leadership (available online)

The Shift: How Seeing People Changes Everything (available online)

Transformational Leadership in Nursing: From Expert Clinician to Influential Leader (available online)

Visionary Leadership in Healthcare: Excellence in Practice, Policy, and Ethics (available online)

Research and Writing

Encylopedia of Nursing Research (available online)

Measurement in Nursing and Health Research (available online)

A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project (available online)

Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects (available online)

Research for Advanced Practice Nurses: From Evidence to Practice (available online)

Related Books

Beyond Burnout: Overcoming Stress in Nursing & Healthcare for Optimal Health & Well-Being (available online); Workbook (available online)

Improving Nurse Retention and Healthcare Outcomes: Innovating with the IMPACT Model (available online)

Learning Disability Nursing: Developing Professional Practice (available online)

Search the Online Catalog

More Options

Call Number Locations in the Library

RT: Nursing
R: Medicine
H: Social Science

Ethics

Breaching Safe Nursing Practice: Case Studies of Failures, Omissions, Comissions and Crimes (available online)

Code of Ethics for Nurses (On order)

Ethical Case Studies for Advanced Practice Nurses: Solving Dilemmas in Everyday Practice (available online)

Book jacket

Ethical Competence in Nursing Practice: Competencies, Skills, Decision-Making (available online)

Book jacket

The Nurse's Healthcare Ethics Committee Handbook (available online)

Nursing & Healthcare Ethics (Main RT85 .R63 2022)

Book jacket

Values in Health and Social Care: An Introductory Workbook (available online)

Evidence-Based

Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals (available online)

Lippincott Nursing Procedures (available online)

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care (Reference RT48.6 .A35 2020)

Nursing Databases

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. It delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.

Keyword Search Tips

1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms
2. Use and to combine keywords
3. Use or to expand your results
4. Use "quotation marks" to search keywords as a phrase
5. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings

Print Journals in the Library

American Journal of Nursing
Minority Nurse
Nursing

Online Journals with Specific Interests

Browze Nursing Journals

What is an OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org

Books

Career Cornerstones: Establishing a Foundation for a Career in Healthcare (University of West Florida Pressbooks)
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care (BC Open Textbook Project)
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions (Athabasca University Press)
Health Alterations (WisTech Open)
Inclusive Approach to Anthropometric Body Measurement Assessments (Toronto Metropolitan University)
Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing (Joan Wagner, University of Regina Press)
Nursing: Mental Health and Community Concepts (Chippewa Valley Technical College)
Nursing Advanced Skills (WisTech Open)
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know (Open SUNY Textbooks)
Nursing Fundamentals 2e (WisTech Open)
Nursing Management and Professional Concepts 2e (WisTech Open)
Nursing Pharmacology 2e (WisTech Open)
Nursing Management and Profesional Concepts (WI Technical Colleges Open Press)
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities & Mental Illness (BC Campus)

Simulations

Open RN Virtual Simulations (WTCS faculty and the Open RN team)

Data and Statistics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Centers for Disease Control
Data (Health Resources & Services Administration)
Data (World Health Organization)
Data, Statistics, and Legislation (MN Dept. of Health)
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health (CAHMI)
Health Data (Country Health Rankings & Roadmaps)
Heatlh Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
HealthData.gov
Healthy People 2030 (OASH)
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)

Career Outlook

CareerOneStop

Career Wise

O*NET

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Professional Websites

AHA Advanced Cardiac Life Support Quizzes
Practice quizzes for each of the main AHA Advanced Cardia Life Support cases.

Public Health Corps
Reputable and useful public information on health topics.

Professional Organizations

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
Supports the interests of nursing education, nursing practice, and the public by the functions of accreditation.

Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association
Work on advancing the practice of transport nursing. Also known as National Flight Nurses Association.

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
World's largest specialty nursing organization. Focused on providing professional support to critical care nurses.

American Academy of Nursing
The Fellows (members) of this organization work to create and execute knowledge-driving and policy-related initiates to drive reform of America's health system.

American Holistic Nurses Association
Holistic nurses are legally licenses nurses who use nursing knowledge, theories, expertise and intution to recognize and care for the totality of the human being within the schope and standards of their state and the Holistic Nursing specialty.

American Nurses Association
Website with professional news, practice, advocacy, certification and membership information.

International Council of Nurses

A federation of more than 130 national nurses associations, representing the more than 27 million nurses worldwide.

Minnesota Board of Nursing

Minnesota State's website for RN, LPN, and Advanced Practice Licensure.

Minnesota Licensed Practical Nurses Association

A professional organization of LPN's owrking throughout the state of Minnesota for over years.

Minnesota Organization of Registered Nurses

The Minnesota Organization of Registered Nurses is a constituent member of the American Nurses Association. Their mission is to advance the profession of nursing in Minnesota through advocacy, leadership development, education and mentorship.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing

An independent, not-for-profit organization through which nursing regulatory bodies act and counsel together on matters of common interest and concern affecting public health, safety and welfare, including the development of nursing licensure examinations.

National Student Nurses' Association

Website for Nursing students with a career center and committee, meeting, scholarship opportunities.

Quality and Safety Education for Nurses
Using the Institute of Medicine competencies, the goal of QSEN is to prepare future nurses who will have the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary to continuously improve the quality of healthcare systems.

Sigma Theta Tau International, Honor Society of Nursing

Sigma is a membership organization with a focus on global nursing

Images

CDC Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Cell Image Library (CRBS)
HEAL Collection (University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library)
Medline Plus Videos & Tools
MedPix (National Library of Medicine)
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
National Eye Institute Media Library
National Institute of General Medical Sciences Image and Video Gallery
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Open-i (Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine)
Visible Human Project (NLM)

Videos
Films on Demand (Nursing)
HIPAA for Nurses. The Privacy Rule
HIPAA For Nurses. The Security Rule
TEDMED videos

NCLEX-RN Study Resources

Online Resources
Create your own account with Learning Express Library:

NCLEX-RN Flash Review (Learning Express Library)
NCLEX-RN Flashcards. Deck 1
Contains 100 terms and concepts that are commonly tested on dteh NCLEX-RN exam. It covers general and adult concepts, plus cardiovascular and endocrine disorders.
NCLEX-RN Flashcards. Deck 2
Contains 100 terms and concepts that are commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. It covers endocrine, eye and ear, heamtological, gastrointestinal, integumentary, musculoskeletal, and neurological disorders.
NCLEX-RN Flashcards. Deck 3
Contains 100 terms and concepts that are commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. It covers neurological, oncology, renal, and respiratory disorders.
NCLEX-RN Flashcards. Deck 4
Contains 100 terms and concepts that are commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. It covers respiratory disorders and obstetrics.
NCLEX-RN Flashcards. Deck 5
Contains 100 terms and concepts that are commonly tested on teh NCLEX-RN exam. It covers obstetrics and pediatrics.
NCLEX-RN Flashcards. Deck 6
Contains 100 terms and concepts that are commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. It covers pediatrics and mental health.
NCLEX-RN Practice Exam 2
NCLEX-RN Practice Exam 3

Study Guides in the Library

HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination (Instructional Media RT55 .H475 2024)

NCLEX-PN Study Resources

Online Resources
Create your own account with Learning Express Library

NCLEX-PN Practice Exam 1
NCLEX-PN Practice Exam 2
NCLEX-PN Practice Exam 3
NCLEX-PN Practice Set 1 and 2

Study Guides in the Library

HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN Examination (Instructional Media RT62 .H44 2024)

TEAS Study Resources

Getting Started

Related Guides

Table of Contents

Books

Articles

Websites

Images and Videos

Welcome

Practice Tests

Nursing Background Information

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Books

Teaching and Simulation

Leadership

Research and Writing

Related Books

Search the Online Catalog

Call Number Locations in the Library

Ethics

Evidence-Based

Articles

Nursing Databases

Keyword Search Tips

Print Journals in the Library

Online Journals with Specific Interests

OERs

What is an OER?

Books

Simulations

Sites

Websites

Data and Statistics

Career Outlook

Professional Websites

Professional Organizations

Images and Videos

NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, and TEAS Study Resources

NCLEX-RN Study Resources

NCLEX-PN Study Resources

TEAS Study Resources