Welcome to the Erickson Library's Science subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
Science is a large topic so you'll want to consider what aspect of science you are interested in researching. Here are a few keyword suggestions to try to narrow your search: Natural Science, Scientific method, Social sciences, Mathematics, Physics, History of science
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Science is a large topic so you'll want to consider what aspect of science you are interested in researching. Here are a few keyword suggestions to try to narrow your search: Natural Science, Scientific method, Social sciences, Mathematics, Physics, History of science
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! - How to Run a Basic Search on Credo (video)
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
How to write and publish a scientific paper (T11 .D33 2011)
Stuff matters: exploring the marvelous materials that shape our manmade world
What if? Serious scientific answers to absurd hypothetical questions (MAIN Q173 .M965 2014)
A Science Odyssey: 100 years of discovery
Writing undergraduate lab reports: a guide for students (MAIN T11 .L625 2017)- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - General Science Collection
General Science Collection with over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. - Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial. - Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, images, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Below are links to collections of OERs in various science disciplines. These OERs are a project of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
Energy Information Administration
NOVA
Science News
CareerOneStop
Career Wise
O*NET