Welcome to the Erickson Library's Writing Resources guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Bad Ideas About Writing (edited by Cheryl E. Ball and Drew M. Loewe, West Virginia University Libraries, Digital Publishing Institute)
Online Guide to Writing and Research (University of Maryland Global Campus)
This guide provides helpful tips to improve your writing and has chapters on the writing process, thinking strategies, research process and more.
Purdue OWL
Offers global support through online reference materials and services for creating citations, cover letters, major-specific writing help, and general writing advice.
Resources for Writing (Kent State U Writing Commons)
Writer's Handbook (UW-Madison)
Includes Academic and Professional Writing, the writing process and structure, and improving your writing style.
Writing Center (UNC)
Writing the paper, citation, style, and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments or contexts such as cover letter, application essays, film analysis, and writing for specific fields like literature, sciences, and sociology.
Online Guide to Writing and Research (University of Maryland Global Campus)
This guide provides helpful tips to improve your writing and has chapters on the writing process, thinking strategies, research process and more.
Purdue OWL
Offers global support through online reference materials and services for creating citations, cover letters, major-specific writing help, and general writing advice.
Resources for Writing (Kent State U Writing Commons)
Writer's Handbook (UW-Madison)
Includes Academic and Professional Writing, the writing process and structure, and improving your writing style.
Writing Center (UNC)
Writing the paper, citation, style, and sentence level concerns, specific writing assignments or contexts such as cover letter, application essays, film analysis, and writing for specific fields like literature, sciences, and sociology.
Duke University – Citing Sources
This website offers help with citing information in various styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.
This website offers help with citing information in various styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.
APA Style
Covers the aspects of scholarly writing most pertinent to writing in psychology, nursing, business, communications, engineering, and related fields.
APA Style Introduction (Purdue OWL)
APA Style Tutorial
This tutorial shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
Covers the aspects of scholarly writing most pertinent to writing in psychology, nursing, business, communications, engineering, and related fields.
APA Style Introduction (Purdue OWL)
APA Style Tutorial
This tutorial shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
MLA Style
MLA style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.
MLA Style Introduction (Purdue OWL)
MLA style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.
MLA Style Introduction (Purdue OWL)
AMA 11th Edition Citation Style Guide (Marymount University)
AMA Style (Purdue Owl)
AMA (11/e) Style Guide (New York Medical College)
Reference Style Guide: AMA Manual of Style (11th ed.)
AMA Style (Purdue Owl)
AMA (11/e) Style Guide (New York Medical College)
Reference Style Guide: AMA Manual of Style (11th ed.)
EasyBib
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
Citation Machine
Citation Machine uses an easy to use 3 step process to create your citations.
KnightCite
KnightCite simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources.
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
Citation Machine
Citation Machine uses an easy to use 3 step process to create your citations.
KnightCite
KnightCite simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources.
Plagiarism Overview (Purdue OWL)
Defining and Avoiding Plagiarism: The WPA Statement on Best Practices
How to Recognize Plagiarism: Tutorials and Tests (Indiana University)
Provides an overview of plagiarism issues and paraphrasing examples.
Oops! I Plagiarized? (UCLA Library)
This site explains how to avoid accidentally plagiarizing, how to cite things correctly, and when it's appropriate to cite them.
Understanding & Preventing Plagiarism
This guidebook was developed to help students better understand the different types of plagiarism, the consequences they carry, and how to avoid plagiarism entirely.
Ulimate Plagiarism Resource: Detecting Plagiarism & Preventing It
Includes tips for prevention and detection, along with course samples of plagiarism statements.
Plagiarism (NIU)
What is Plagiarism (GCF Global)
Defining and Avoiding Plagiarism: The WPA Statement on Best Practices
How to Recognize Plagiarism: Tutorials and Tests (Indiana University)
Provides an overview of plagiarism issues and paraphrasing examples.
Oops! I Plagiarized? (UCLA Library)
This site explains how to avoid accidentally plagiarizing, how to cite things correctly, and when it's appropriate to cite them.
Understanding & Preventing Plagiarism
This guidebook was developed to help students better understand the different types of plagiarism, the consequences they carry, and how to avoid plagiarism entirely.
Ulimate Plagiarism Resource: Detecting Plagiarism & Preventing It
Includes tips for prevention and detection, along with course samples of plagiarism statements.
Plagiarism (NIU)
What is Plagiarism (GCF Global)
Paraphrasing (Credo Research)
Synthesizing Research (Credo Reference)
Writing with Sources: Quoting, Paraphrasing, Summarizing (U of Louisville)
Synthesizing Research (Credo Reference)
Writing with Sources: Quoting, Paraphrasing, Summarizing (U of Louisville)
LSC Library Tutorial (sign in to D2L and find LILT)
Rutgers University Plagiarism Tutorial
Plagiarism Tutorial (Univ of Southern Mississippi)
Rutgers University Plagiarism Tutorial
Plagiarism Tutorial (Univ of Southern Mississippi)
MLPP: Minnesota Libraries Publishing Project The Minnesota Library Publishing Project (MLPP) provides online publishing tools and training information to support independent authors and small publishers.
MLPP’s book design tool is Pressbooks: an easy-to-use online service that enables authors and publishers to create attractive content using a wide variety of templates and formatting options. Remember to use MLPP: Minnesota Libraries Publishing Project as your log in site.
Pressbooks User Guide
This open Guide to Pressbooks ebook is constantly growing. It should detail how to do most of the things you can do with Pressbooks.
This open Guide to Pressbooks ebook is constantly growing. It should detail how to do most of the things you can do with Pressbooks.
Potluck: Creative Works by Minnesota's Library Workers
A collaborative effort by a couple of librarians to learn the Pressbooks platform.
Ingredients of the Environment: A Cookbook
This title is a sample of a student work published in Pressbooks.
A collaborative effort by a couple of librarians to learn the Pressbooks platform.
Ingredients of the Environment: A Cookbook
This title is a sample of a student work published in Pressbooks.