Accounting

Accounting Background Information

Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.
Business Source Premier
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.

Try one of these keywords: financial accounting, bookkeeping, general ledger, balance sheet, accountant, certified public accountant

Related Guides

Business

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Online EBooks

Advances in accounting education: teaching and curriculum innovations (available online)

Confession and Bookkeeping The Relgious, Moral, and Rhetorical Roots of Modern Accounting (available online)

Executive finance and strategy: how to understand and use financial informaiton to set strategic goals (available online)

The handy accounting answer book (available online)

How to open your own in-home bookkeeping service (available online)

Search the Online Catalog

More Options

Print Books

Accounting and finance for the nonfinancial executive: an integrated resource management guide for the 21st century (HF5635 .S552899 2000)

Historical encyclopedia of American Business (Reference HF3021 .H67 2009 and also available online)

Understanding hospital billing and coding (RA971.3 .F47 2011)

Accounting Databases

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video.
Business Source Premier
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
Regional Business News
incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

1. Useful keywords: bookkeeping, double-entry bookkeeping, certified public accountant, debits and credits, balance sheet, general ledger, accounts payable
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "accounting and bookkeeping"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "general ledger or balance sheet"
5. Use "quotation marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "certified public accountant"
6. Use an asteric* to search multiple endings, i.e. account* will search accountant, accounts, accounting, etc.

What is an OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org