Main

Free Images : people, motion, walk, asia, professional, together, lady, wedding, bride, smile, talk, laughing, ceremony, wheelchair, talking, rehabilitation, hospital, senior, clinic, event, older, elderly, nurse, service, handicap, citizen, pensioner ...

Welcome!

Welcome to the Erickson Library's Aging Physiology and Function guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources. 

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

 

Articles

Databases
  • CINAHL Complete
    CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
  • Alt HealthWatch
    This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.

Keyword Search Tips

1. Useful keywords: aging, seniors, elderly, older adult
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "older adult and home care"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "older adult or elderly"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "study of aging"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. nurs* will search nursing, nurse, etc.

Videos

Disclaimer: This Playlist is intended for use for after class is completed. While in class, you should use your D2L to make sure you get credit for watching the videos.
Playlist

Chap 1: The Aging Population

Chap 2: Theories of Aging

Chap 5: Common Aging Changes

Chap 18: Respiration

Chap 25: Vision & Hearing

References

 

Chap 26: Endocrine Function

References