Welcome to the Erickson Library's Art subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information about print and online resources. We include links to a variety of resources such as encylopedias, newspapers, books, articles, databases, videos, websites and more.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
(218) 733-5912
lsclibrary@lsc.edu
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
(218) 733-5912
lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Your instructor will let you know which citation style you should use for your assignment. Purdue OWL offers introductory guides to various styles:
Purdue OWL: AMA for print or AMA for online
Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide (7th Edition)
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and style guide
Purdue OWL: AMA for print or AMA for online
Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide (7th Edition)
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and style guide
Get live help from a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! This is a cooperative service of academic libraries, including Lake Superior College.
- EasyBib
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography. - Occupational Outlook Handbook
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
American Indian Art Magazine
Features American Indian painting, beadwork, carving, textiles, basketry, ceramics, jewelry, book and exhibition reviews
The largest-circulated and most comprehensive publication dedicated to sharing ideas, discoveries, and information within the ceramics arts field.
Features American Indian painting, beadwork, carving, textiles, basketry, ceramics, jewelry, book and exhibition reviews
- Issues available from 1996 - 2015
The largest-circulated and most comprehensive publication dedicated to sharing ideas, discoveries, and information within the ceramics arts field.
- Library keeps current 10 years
- Available online as well
The Erickson Library has an ART Collection located near the back of the library.
Many books on fine arts can also be found in the Main collection, in the N section:
N - Visual Arts
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative Arts
NX - Arts in General
Many books on fine arts can also be found in the Main collection, in the N section:
N - Visual Arts
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative Arts
NX - Arts in General
- JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences.
- Animal Anatomy for Artists: The Elements of Form
Designed for painters, sculptors, and illustrators who use animal imagery in their work, Animal Anatomy for Artists offers thorough, in-depth information about the most commonly depicted animals, presented in a logical and easily understood format for artists--whether beginner or accomplished professional. - Ceramic Sculpture
Inspiring Techniques: With sculpture, clay provides more possibilities than any other medium. It's possible to build with any forming process and even combine other media. Many contemporary artists demonstrate some of the infinite possibilities of clay for manifesting ideas into a physical reality. - Figure Drawing for Artists
Though there are many books on drawing the human figure, none teach how to draw a figure from the first few marks of the quick sketch to the last virtuosic stroke of the finished masterpiece, let alone through a convincing, easy-to-understand method. - Fine Art Photography: Lighting, Posing & Postproduction: From Concept to Completion
Nylora Bruleigh's presentation of Fine Art Portrait Photography with examples of before and after images. - Perceptual Drawing: A Handbook for the Practitioner
“Perceptual Drawing” presents a practicum of 10 plus drawings which lead the reader in a detailed explanation of various perceptual concepts considering line and tone.
- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - Films on Demand
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content. Video tutorial - Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial.
- Global Gallery
This website offers hundreds of author biographies and images of each artist's works.