Welcome to the Erickson Library's Biology subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: biology, molecular biology, life, gene, organism, evolution, species
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
A few keywords to try: biology, molecular biology, life, gene, organism, evolution, species
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
The gene: an intimate historyCall Number: RB155 .M85 2016
Marine microbiology: ecology and applicationsCall Number: QR106 .M86 2011
Medical terminology for health care professionalsCall Number: R123 .R523 2018
- Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive full text coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. - CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - General Science Collection
General Science Collection with over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers. - PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals. - Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, images, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
1. Useful keywords: species, organism, genetics, evolution, life, DNA, Molecular biology, Genome project
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "life and evolution"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "DNA or organism "
5. Use "quotation marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "Molecular biology"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings, i.e. biolog* will search biology, biological, biologies, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "life and evolution"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "DNA or organism "
5. Use "quotation marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "Molecular biology"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings, i.e. biolog* will search biology, biological, biologies, etc.
American Academy of Microbiology
National Academy of Sciences
CareerOneStop
Career Wise
O*NET
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
Concepts of Biology - an OER textbook
Unit 1. The Cellular Foundation of Life
Unit 2. Cell Division and Genetics
Unit 3. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Unit 4. Evolution and the Diversity of Life
Unit 5. Animal Structure and Function
Unit 6. Ecology
Unit 2. Cell Division and Genetics
Unit 3. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Unit 4. Evolution and the Diversity of Life
Unit 5. Animal Structure and Function
Unit 6. Ecology
Open Educational Resources and Biology - a large collection of Biology OERs from the Open Educational Resources Initiative, a project of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges
Diversity in STEM Education A curated list from National University Library that provides links to many organizations working toward increasing diversity among science professionals.
Racism and Health - A CDC Resource A Centers for Disease Control (CDC) web page that features publications highlighting key science and policy efforts, as well as interventions that address racism, health, and health equity. Our goal is to better understand the adverse health effects of racism, share the latest scientific methods, identify solutions, and, ultimately, improve and save lives.
Diversity Activities Resource Guide
Engaging, hands-on activities that allow participants to gain a greater understanding of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion topics.
Global Road Warrior Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide.
Racism and Health - A CDC Resource A Centers for Disease Control (CDC) web page that features publications highlighting key science and policy efforts, as well as interventions that address racism, health, and health equity. Our goal is to better understand the adverse health effects of racism, share the latest scientific methods, identify solutions, and, ultimately, improve and save lives.
Diversity Activities Resource Guide
Engaging, hands-on activities that allow participants to gain a greater understanding of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion topics.Global Road Warrior Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide.
Sources for free stock photos shared by creators; search by both your course subject and "diversity".
