Ceramic Composition and Properties (Britannica Academic)
Ceramics and Pottery (Encyclopedia of Archaeology)
Chinese Pottery (Britannica Academic)
Pottery (1001 Inventions: The Enduring Legacy of Muslim Civilization)
Japanese Pottery (Britannica Academic)
Pottery (Columbia Encyclopedia)
Pottery, Folk (Encyclopedia of American Folk Art)
Pottery, Greek (Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization)
Pottery, Southwestern Indian (New Encyclopedia of the American West)
Ceramics and Pottery (Encyclopedia of Archaeology)
Chinese Pottery (Britannica Academic)
Pottery (1001 Inventions: The Enduring Legacy of Muslim Civilization)
Japanese Pottery (Britannica Academic)
Pottery (Columbia Encyclopedia)
Pottery, Folk (Encyclopedia of American Folk Art)
Pottery, Greek (Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization)
Pottery, Southwestern Indian (New Encyclopedia of the American West)
Welcome to the Erickson Library's Ceramics subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Art and Craft of Ceramics by Maria Dolors Ros i Frigola
Art of Throwing by Alex McErlain
Hand Building by Shay Amber
Mastering the Potter's Wheel: Techniques, Tips, and Tricks for Potters by Ben Carter and Linda Arbuckle
Penland Book of Ceramics: Master Classes in Ceramic Techniques by Deborah Morgentah and Suzanne Tourtillott
Potter's Bible: An Essential Illustrated Reference for Both Beginner and Advanced Potters by Marylin Scott
You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the Ebsco eBook Collection.
Ceramic Projects: Forming Techniques by Anderson Turner
Ceramic Sculpture: Inspiring Techniques by Anderson Turner
Handbuilt, A Potter's Guide: Master Timeless Techniques, Explore New Forms, Dig and Process Your Own Clay by Melissa Weiss
Pottery Making Techniques by Anderson Turner
Studio Ceramics: Advanced Techniques by Anderson Turner
Surface Decoration: Finishing Techniques by Anderson Turner
Throwing & Handbuilding: Forming Techniques by Anderson Turner
Ceramic Projects: Forming Techniques by Anderson TurnerCeramic Sculpture: Inspiring Techniques by Anderson TurnerHandbuilt, A Potter's Guide: Master Timeless Techniques, Explore New Forms, Dig and Process Your Own Clay by Melissa WeissPottery Making Techniques by Anderson TurnerStudio Ceramics: Advanced Techniques by Anderson TurnerSurface Decoration: Finishing Techniques by Anderson TurnerThrowing & Handbuilding: Forming Techniques by Anderson Turner
American Indian Art Magazine (library has 1977-2015 in print)
Ceramics Monthly (library has last 10 years in print) | Available online
American Ceramic Society Bulletin
Glass & Ceramics (12 month delay)
Journal of the American Ceramic Society (12 month delay)
Pottery Making Illustrated
Ceramics Monthly (library has last 10 years in print) | Available online
American Ceramic Society Bulletin
Glass & Ceramics (12 month delay)
Journal of the American Ceramic Society (12 month delay)
Pottery Making Illustrated
- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive full text coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. - JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences. - MasterFILE Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications. Contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Includes Consumer Reports, Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, People, and thousands of other titles.
1. Useful keywords: ceramics, pottery, clay
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "pottery and techniques"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "ceramics or pottery"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "pottery making"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings, i.e. pott* will search pottery, potters, pottery wheel, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "pottery and techniques"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "ceramics or pottery"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "pottery making"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings, i.e. pott* will search pottery, potters, pottery wheel, etc.
Off campus? Access these videos using your StarID and password.
Ceramics: The Secret Life of Materials
Glass and Ceramics
Color and Fire: Defining Moments in Studio Ceramics, 1950-2000
theEye, Series 3: Sculpture, Public Art and Ceramics
Pottery Craft
Space of Pottery: Ceramics of Paul Mathieu
Why Pottery?
Ceramics: The Secret Life of Materials
Glass and Ceramics
Color and Fire: Defining Moments in Studio Ceramics, 1950-2000
theEye, Series 3: Sculpture, Public Art and Ceramics
Pottery Craft
Space of Pottery: Ceramics of Paul Mathieu
Why Pottery?