Welcome to the Erickson Library's Computer Information Systems (CIS) guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: computer science, computers, technology, information technology, hardware, software engineering.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Credo Reference
A few keywords to try: computer science, computers, technology, information technology, hardware, software engineering.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Credo Reference
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
CareerOneStop
Career Wise
O*NET
Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive full text coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles.
Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
EBSCO Basic Seach Video- watch this video for search tips
Extensive full text coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles.
Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
EBSCO Basic Seach Video- watch this video for search tips
1. Useful Keywords: computer science, information technology
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "computer science and java"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "computers or information technology"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "computer science"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. comp* will search computer, computers, computation, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "computer science and java"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "computers or information technology"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "computer science"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. comp* will search computer, computers, computation, etc.
Login to Ebsco eBooks with your StarID and password.
Turing's Vision: The Birth of Computer Science
ENIAC in Action: Making and Remaking the Modern Computer
AN/FSQ-7: The Computer That Shaped the Cold War
From Gutenberg to Google: The History of Our Future
Login to the Ebsco eBook Collection with your StarID and password.
Python Basics: A Self-Teaching Introduction
C Programming Pocket Primer
Java Fundamentals: A Fast-Paced and Pragmatic Introduction to One of the World's Most Popular Programming Languages
Think Python: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist (Open Textbook Library)
Think Java: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist (OER Commons)
Extensive List of Computer Science OER Resources (OER Initiative from the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges)
Think Java: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist (OER Commons)
Extensive List of Computer Science OER Resources (OER Initiative from the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges)
Computer Networks: A Systems Approach (Open Textbook Library)
Extensive List of Computer Science OER Resources (OER Initiative from the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges)
Extensive List of Computer Science OER Resources (OER Initiative from the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges)
Networking and Communication (Britannica)
Login to the Ebsco eBook Collection with your StarID and password.
Login to the Ebsco eBook Collection with your StarID and password.
Spam: A Shadow History of the Internet
Data Security in Cloud Computing, Volume I
Ethics
The Ethics of Hacking 101 (Washington Post)
The Ethics of Hacking 101 (Washington Post)
Physically on the shelves at Erickson Library
Hidden Figures: The American Deam and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race (Main QA27.5 .L44 2016)
Broad Band: The Untold Story of the Women Who Made the Internet (Main QA76.2.A2 E93 2018)
Hidden Figures: The American Deam and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race (Main QA27.5 .L44 2016)Broad Band: The Untold Story of the Women Who Made the Internet (Main QA76.2.A2 E93 2018)
Log-in to the Ebsco eBook Collection with your StarID and password.
Culturally Responsive Strategies for Reforming STEM Higher Education: Turning the TIDES on Inequity
Diversity in High Tech
Latest Stats on Women in Tech
STEM Jobs See Uneven Progress in Increasing Gender, Racial and Ethnic Diversity
Valuing Diversity, Equity, and Incusion in Our Computing Community
Women in Tech Statistics Show the Industry has a Long Way to Go
Women in Tech Statistics: The Hard Truths of an Uphill Battle
Women in Technology Statistics: What's New in 2021
Latest Stats on Women in Tech
STEM Jobs See Uneven Progress in Increasing Gender, Racial and Ethnic Diversity
Valuing Diversity, Equity, and Incusion in Our Computing Community
Women in Tech Statistics Show the Industry has a Long Way to Go
Women in Tech Statistics: The Hard Truths of an Uphill Battle
Women in Technology Statistics: What's New in 2021
Diversity Activities Resource Guide
Engaging, hands-on activities that allow participants to gain a greater understanding of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion topics.Global Road Warrior Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide.
Sources for free stock photos shared by creators; search by both your course subject and "diversity".
