Getting Started

Welcome

Welcome to the Erickson Library's Public Safety subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!

Background Information

Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.

A few keywords to try: emergency management, disaster area, evacuation, civil defense, emergency service, firefighting, FEMA, natural disasters, community emergency response, contingency planning

Visit the Articles and Websites tabs to find current news, information and resources.

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

 

Books and EBooks

Search the Online Catalog




More Options





Articles

Public Safety Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. 
  • Learning Express Library
    Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial.
Prepare for EMT, Firefighter, and Paramedic Exams through the database called Learning Express Library (linked above). For access you'll need to create a username and password.

Tools from the National Institute of Health

CHEMM (Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management)

CHEMM Intelligent Syndromes Tool: CHEMM-IST
Currently in beta phase of development, CHEMM-IST is designed to aid experts and emergency response in identifying the chemical a patient is exposed to in a mass casualty incident. 

REMM (Radiation Emergency Medical Management)
Guidance on diagnosis and treatment for healthcare providers.

 

Keyword Search Tips

1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms
2. Use and to combine keywords
3. Use or to expand your results
4. Use "quotation marks"  to search keywords as a phrase
5. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings

Online Journals

Fire Chief (1956-2013)

Fire Engineering (1995 - Present) Also available in print from 2015 to Present.

Minnesota Fire Chief (May 2004 - Present)

 

OERs

What is an OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org

 

OER Video