Getting Started

pills

Related Subject Guides

Medical Assisting
Nursing
Science

Welcome

Welcome to the Erickson Library's Health and Medicine subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources. 

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!

Health and Medicine Background Information

Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
 
A few keywords to try: health care, public health, nursing, physician, disease, diagnosis

Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

 

Books

Health and Medicine Books

Call Number Locations R-RZ: Health and Medicine

ACSM's Health/Fitness Facilities Standards and Guidelines
(Reference GV429 .A45 2019)






Move your DNA: Restore your Health through Natural Movement
(Main RM725 .B69 2017)






The Story of the Human Body: Evolution, Health, and Disease
(Main QP38 .L74 2013)






Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z
(eBook available online)


 

Search the Online Catalog




More Options





Articles

Health and Medicine Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. 
  • Alt HealthWatch
    This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.

Keyword Search Tips

1. Useful keywords: health care, public health, medicine, physician, disease, pain, pills, diagnosis, treatment, homeopathic
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "medicine and pain"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "diagnosis or treatment "
5. Use "quotation marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "homeopathic physician"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings

OERs

What is an OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute).

 creativecommons.org