Welcome to the Erickson Library's History subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions.
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords and gather background information.
Opposing Viewpoints and Points of View Reference Center are useful databases to get ideas for topics or to narrow your research. You'll find suggestions for topics that are currently trending and being discussed in academics and the news.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases, and the Websites tab to find reliable tools and information from websites.
Opposing Viewpoints and Points of View Reference Center are useful databases to get ideas for topics or to narrow your research. You'll find suggestions for topics that are currently trending and being discussed in academics and the news.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases, and the Websites tab to find reliable tools and information from websites.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo. - Opposing Viewpoints
This online resource covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. It includes rich resources for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, news, images, video, and more. - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View is a full-text database that offers students with a series of comprehensive essays with point and counterpoint arguments related to current issues in the news. Points of View Reference Center Tutorial
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Your instructor will let you know which citation style you should use for your assignment. Purdue OWL offers introductory guides to various styles:
Purdue OWL: AMA for print or AMA for online
Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide (7th Edition)
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and style guide
Purdue OWL: AMA for print or AMA for online
Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide (7th Edition)
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and style guide
A Black women's history of the United States (MAIN E185.86 .B475 2020)
Duluth: an urban biography (MINNESOTA F614.D8 D535 2020) 
Epidemics: the impact of germs and their power over humanity (MAIN RA649 .L68 2018)
Four hundred souls: a community history of African America, 1619-2019 (MAIN E185 .F625 2021) 
The making of Asian America: a history (MAIN E184.A75 L43 2015)
Stamped from the beginning: the definitive history of racist ideas in America (MAIN E185.61 .K358 2016)
The Minnesota book of days: an almanac of state history (REFERENCE F606.6 .M56 2001)
The Oxford encyclopedia of the history of American science, medicine, and technology (available online) 
The Routledge history of disease (available online)- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - Britannica Academic
Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and more. - Duluth News Tribune
Full-text newspaper articles from Duluth News Tribune from 1995-date. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - Explora Libraries
Full text of popular magazine and scholarly journal articles covering all subject areas including multimedia, primary source documents, and reference books. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases. - Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior is the world’s most extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. Global Road Warrior consists of 174 Country Guides of 119 topics each. No other single resource covers so many topics, so well, for so many countries. - JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences. - Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial. - ProQuest U.S. Newsstream
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current and archives back into the 1980s of U.S. news content and features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Access USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, New York Times among others. - Salem History
Salem History provides online access to a selection of history reference works such as Great Lives from History, The Seventies in America, and Milestone Documents.
Minnesota Digital Newspapers
From the Minnesota Historical Society. This page also provides access to historical Swedish Amercain newspaper from all over the country.
Georgia Historic Newspaper Archive
The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1763 - 2021. It includes numerous titles.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A website that allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Missouri Digital Heritage
Missouri Digital Heritage contains a number of Missouri newspapers including:
The Border Star Newspaper [also Weekly Border Star] (1858-1860)
Liberty Tribune (from Clay County, MO; roughly 1846-1883)
Rolla New Era (1880-1897)
St. Louis Christian Advocate (1857-1979)
and The St. Louis Globe Democrat Images.
Winona Newspaper Project
An online archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona, MN newspapers. Includes issue of the Winonan Argus, the Winona Daily Republican, and the Winona Republican Herald. Archive includes issues through 1960 with over 150,000 pages of text. Please note: only opens in Google Chrome.
From the Minnesota Historical Society. This page also provides access to historical Swedish Amercain newspaper from all over the country.
Georgia Historic Newspaper Archive
The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1763 - 2021. It includes numerous titles.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A website that allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Missouri Digital Heritage
Missouri Digital Heritage contains a number of Missouri newspapers including:
The Border Star Newspaper [also Weekly Border Star] (1858-1860)
Liberty Tribune (from Clay County, MO; roughly 1846-1883)
Rolla New Era (1880-1897)
St. Louis Christian Advocate (1857-1979)
and The St. Louis Globe Democrat Images.
Winona Newspaper Project
An online archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona, MN newspapers. Includes issue of the Winonan Argus, the Winona Daily Republican, and the Winona Republican Herald. Archive includes issues through 1960 with over 150,000 pages of text. Please note: only opens in Google Chrome.
Open Educational Resouces and HistoryLarge collection from the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
Google LifeSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Many were never published and are now available for the first time.
InfoPlease: Selected Activists and ReformersBiographies of a varied list of social activists and reformers.
Minnesota Historical SocietyContains links to its library's resources, including the visual resources database, which contains over 180,000 photographs, artwork, posters, and fine art photographs from the Society's collections.
Project GutenbergFree epub and Kindle eBooks to download or read online. Collection focus is on older works with which U.S. copyright has expired.
Minnesota History Magazine
Find full-text articles from the Minnesota History Magazine. Access back to 1910, there is a 5 year embargo.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute
The King institute supports a broad range of educational activities illuminating Dr. King's life and the movements he inspired.
CareerOneStop
Career Wise
O*NET
- American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. - Films on Demand
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content. Video tutorial
America: the story of us (CIRCULATING MEDIA E178 .A44 2013)
Focuses on the people, ideas and events covering 400 years of American history.
The Black Panthers: vanguard of the revolution (CIRCULATING MEDIA E185.615 .B53 2016)
This is the first feature length documentary to explore the Black Panther Party, its significance to the braoder American culture, its cultural and political awakening for black people, and the painful lesons wrought when a movement derails.
Freedom Riders (CIRCULATING MEDIA E185.61 .F74 2011)
Inspirational documentary about a band of courageous civil-rights activists calling themselves the Freedom Riders.
Legacy of the Weeks Act 100 years of restoring America's forests (CIRCULATING MEDIA SD412 .U833 2011)
Signed into law by President William Howard Taft' the Weeks Act permitted the federal government to purchase private land in order to protec tthe headwaters of rivers and watersheds in the eastern United Stated and called for fire protection efforts through federal, state, and private cooperation.
The Roosevelts: An Intimate History (CIRCULATING MEDIA E757.3 .R667 2014)
Profiles Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt.
The Vietnam War (CIRCULATING MEDIA DS557.7 .V542 2017)
This series explores the human dimensions of the war through revelatory testimony of nearly 80 withnesses from all sides. Features rarely seen photography, as well as more than 100 iconic musical recordings.
World War II: The War Chronicles (CIRCULATING MEDIA D743 .W6753 2011)
This comprehensive video features the greatest World War II documentaries, each packed with original archival footage, interviews with military experts and historians, and gripping reenactments from the War in Europe to the war in the Pacific.
Focuses on the people, ideas and events covering 400 years of American history.
The Black Panthers: vanguard of the revolution (CIRCULATING MEDIA E185.615 .B53 2016)
This is the first feature length documentary to explore the Black Panther Party, its significance to the braoder American culture, its cultural and political awakening for black people, and the painful lesons wrought when a movement derails.
Freedom Riders (CIRCULATING MEDIA E185.61 .F74 2011)
Inspirational documentary about a band of courageous civil-rights activists calling themselves the Freedom Riders.
Legacy of the Weeks Act 100 years of restoring America's forests (CIRCULATING MEDIA SD412 .U833 2011)
Signed into law by President William Howard Taft' the Weeks Act permitted the federal government to purchase private land in order to protec tthe headwaters of rivers and watersheds in the eastern United Stated and called for fire protection efforts through federal, state, and private cooperation.
The Roosevelts: An Intimate History (CIRCULATING MEDIA E757.3 .R667 2014)
Profiles Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt.
The Vietnam War (CIRCULATING MEDIA DS557.7 .V542 2017)
This series explores the human dimensions of the war through revelatory testimony of nearly 80 withnesses from all sides. Features rarely seen photography, as well as more than 100 iconic musical recordings.
World War II: The War Chronicles (CIRCULATING MEDIA D743 .W6753 2011)
This comprehensive video features the greatest World War II documentaries, each packed with original archival footage, interviews with military experts and historians, and gripping reenactments from the War in Europe to the war in the Pacific.