Welcome to the Erickson Library's Health, Physical Education and Recreation (HPER) guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: health, physical fitness, nutrition, sports.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Credo Reference
A few keywords to try: health, physical fitness, nutrition, sports.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Credo Reference
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Physically on the shelves at Erickson Library
Move Your DNA: Restore Your Health Through Natural Movement (Main RM725 .B69 2017)
Understanding Fitness: How Exercise Fuels Health and Fights Disease (Main RA781 .U53 2008)
Weapons of Fitness: The Women's Ultimate Guide to Fitness, Self-Defense, and Empowerment (Main GV482 .Z45 2015)
Move Your DNA: Restore Your Health Through Natural Movement (Main RM725 .B69 2017)Understanding Fitness: How Exercise Fuels Health and Fights Disease (Main RA781 .U53 2008)
Weapons of Fitness: The Women's Ultimate Guide to Fitness, Self-Defense, and Empowerment (Main GV482 .Z45 2015)
Login to the Ebsco eBook Collection using your StarID and password.
Healthy Habits Suck: How to Get Off the Couch and Live a Healthy Life...Even If You Don't Want To
Exercise for Mood and Anxiety: Proven Strategies for Overcoming Depression and Enhancing Well-Being
Lean and Hard: The Body You've Always Wanted in Just 24 Workouts
Becoming a True Champion: Achieving Athletic Excellence From the Inside Out
- Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive full text coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. - Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics. - Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
1. Useful keywords: health, physical fitness, nutrition, endurance training, sports, exercise
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "health and bmi"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "health or well-being"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "endurance training"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. train* will search for train, training, trainers, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "health and bmi"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "health or well-being"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "endurance training"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. train* will search for train, training, trainers, etc.
Active People, Healthy Nation (CDC)
Exercise and Physical Activity (National Institute on Aging)
Food and Nutrition Information Center (USDA National Agricultural Library)
Healthy Weight, Nutrition, and Physical Activity (CDC)
Nutrition and Healthy Eating (Mayo Clinic)
Nutrition and Physical Activity (Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion)
Physical Activity (MN Dept. of Health)
What to Eat Before, During, and After Exercise (WebMD)
Exercise and Physical Activity (National Institute on Aging)
Food and Nutrition Information Center (USDA National Agricultural Library)
Healthy Weight, Nutrition, and Physical Activity (CDC)
Nutrition and Healthy Eating (Mayo Clinic)
Nutrition and Physical Activity (Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion)
Physical Activity (MN Dept. of Health)
What to Eat Before, During, and After Exercise (WebMD)
Adapted Physical Education National Standards
American College of Sports Medicine
American Public Health Association
Association for Applied Sport Psychology
Association of Sport Performance Centres
National Academy of Kinesiology
National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity
National Athletic Trainers' Association
SHAPE America (Society of Health and Physical Educators)
American College of Sports Medicine
American Public Health Association
Association for Applied Sport Psychology
Association of Sport Performance Centres
National Academy of Kinesiology
National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity
National Athletic Trainers' Association
SHAPE America (Society of Health and Physical Educators)
Log-in to the Ebsco eBook Collection with your StarID and password.
Black Faces, White Spaces : Reimaginging the Relationship of African Americans to the Great Outdoors
LGBTQ+ Athletes Claim the Field: Striving for Equality
Fair Play: How LGBT Athletes are Claiming Their Rightful Place in Sports
A Teacher's Guide to Adapted Physical Education: Including Students with Disabilities in Sports and Recreation
The Complete Guide to Teaching Exercise to Special Populations
Coming On Strong: Gender and Sexuality in Women's Sport
Women on the Move: The Forgotten Era of Women's Bicycle Racing
Passing the Baton: Black Women Track Stars and American Identity
Playing for Equality: Oral Histories of Women Leaders in the Early Years of Title IX
Black Faces, White Spaces : Reimaginging the Relationship of African Americans to the Great Outdoors
Physically on the shelves at Erickson Library
Making My Pitch: A Woman's Baseball Odyssey (Main GV865.B675 A3 2017)
She's a Knockout!: A History of Women in Fighting Sports (Main GV709 .J45 2015)
Taboo: Why Black Athletes Dominate Sports and Why We Are Afraid to Talk About It
(Main GV706/32 E57 2000)
Making My Pitch: A Woman's Baseball Odyssey (Main GV865.B675 A3 2017)She's a Knockout!: A History of Women in Fighting Sports (Main GV709 .J45 2015)Taboo: Why Black Athletes Dominate Sports and Why We Are Afraid to Talk About It(Main GV706/32 E57 2000)
2020 Racial and Gender Report Card (TIDES)
Career Snapshots:
Recreation Worker
Physical Education Teacher
Health Specialist
Career Snapshots:
Recreation Worker
Physical Education Teacher
Health Specialist