Communication - Free Creative Commons Tablet Dictionary image
Background / Definitions
Communication (Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought)

Communication (Britannica Academic)

Communication (Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics)

Communication (Curriculum Connections Psychology: The Individual and Society)

Communication (Pragmatics Encyclopedia)

 
Welcome!
Welcome to the Erickson Library's Introduction to Communication guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources. 

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Intro to Communication
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.

A few keywords to try: communication, interpersonal communication, public speaking, mass communication, communication studies.


Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.

​Credo Reference
Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information
Monday-Thursday: 8-4:30
Friday: 8-4
(218) 733-5912
lsclibrary@lsc.edu

We now offer curbside pickup of library materials, call us for more details!
Questions? Ask a Librarian!
 
General
This list is not exhaustive. More eBooks can be found in the Ebsco eBook Collection search:
https://lsc.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=azpage


You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the eBook Collection.


Book JacketField Guide to Extraordinary Communication and Connection by Rachael Doyle








Book JacketListen! The Art of Effective Commmunication by Dale Carnegie & Associates







Book JacketMaster Your Message: The Guide to Finding Your Voice in Any Situation by Vernon Ross







Book JacketMessages: The Communication Skills Book by Matthew McKay, Martha Davis, and Patrick Fanning







Book JacketSmart Skills: Persuasion by Patrick Forsyth








 
Search the Online Catalog



More Options





Keyword Search Tips
1. Useful keywords: communication, communication studies 
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "communication and intercultural"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "communication or communication skills"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "business communication"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. comm* will search communication, communicate, communications, etc.
Career & Job Outlook
Learning Express Library Job & Career Accelerator covers exploring occupations, finding a career match, building resumes and job letters, preparing for an interview, and more. You'll need to create your own account and password to use Learning Express Library.

CareerOneStop

CareerWise

O*Net

Occupational Outlook Handbook