Business and Corporate Law (Great American Court Cases, Gale)
Court System in the United States (The Columbia Encyclopedia)
Criminal Law (Great American Court Cases, Gale)
Family Law (Great American Court Cases, Gale)
Legal Profession (Britannica Academic)
Court System in the United States (The Columbia Encyclopedia)
Criminal Law (Great American Court Cases, Gale)
Family Law (Great American Court Cases, Gale)
Legal Profession (Britannica Academic)
Welcome to the Erickson Library's Paralegal Studies guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
This list is not exhaustive. More eBooks can be found in the Ebsco eBook Collection search.
You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the eBook Collection.
Business of Trademarks: A Practical Guide to Trademark Management for Attorneys and Paralegals by Carol Chadirjian
Concurring Opinion Writing on the U.S. Supreme Court by Pamela Corley
Great American Court Cases, Gale
Prisoners' Self-Help Litigation Manual by John Boston and Daniel Manville
Legal Ease: A Guide to Criminal Law, Evidence, and Procedure by Andrea Campbell and Ralph Ohm
Legal Literacy: An Introduction to Legal Studies by Archie Zariski
Legal Photography: A Complete Reference for Documenting Scenes, Situations, and Evidence for Civil Cases by Stan Sholik
Society and Law: An Exploration Across Disciplines by Ayan Hazra
Thinking Like a Lawyer: A New Introduction to Legal Reasoning by Kenneth Vandevelde
You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the eBook Collection.
Business of Trademarks: A Practical Guide to Trademark Management for Attorneys and Paralegals by Carol ChadirjianGreat American Court Cases, GalePrisoners' Self-Help Litigation Manual by John Boston and Daniel ManvilleSociety and Law: An Exploration Across Disciplines by Ayan Hazra
You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the eBook Collection.
The Lawyer's Guide to Writing Well by Tom Goldstein and Jethro Lieberman
Legal Writing: QuickStudy Reference Guide by Olympia Duhart and Richard Stevens
Point Made: How to Write Like the Nation's Top Advocates by Ross Guberman
A Primer on Legal Reasoning by Michael Evan Gold
Research Methods for Law by Michael McConville and Wing Hong Chui
Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research, 4th ed. (Open Textbook Library)
Strategic Legal Writing by Donald Zillman and Evan Roth
Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research, 4th ed. (Open Textbook Library)
You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the eBook Collection.
Business Etiquette & Professionalism: Conduct Yourself with Confidence by M. Kay DuPont
Customer Service Training 101: Quick and Easy Techniques That Get Great Results by Renee Evenson
An Experts' Guide to International Protocol: Best Practice in Diplomatic and Corporate Relations by Gilbert Monod de Froideville and Mark Verheul
Excuse Me: The Survival Guide to Modern Business Etiquette by Rosanne Thomas
The Marvelous Millennial's Manual to Modern Manners: Professional Success and Happiness with the Help of Business Etiquette by Jessica Marventano and Catherine Crane Wallace
Customer Service Training 101: Quick and Easy Techniques That Get Great Results by Renee EvensonAn Experts' Guide to International Protocol: Best Practice in Diplomatic and Corporate Relations by Gilbert Monod de Froideville and Mark Verheul- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive full text coverage of research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. The database offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. - Business Source Premier
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily. - Duluth News Tribune
Full-text newspaper articles from Duluth News Tribune from 1995-date. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial.
1. Useful keywords: paralegal, legal assistant, legal studies
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "paralegal and case studies"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "paralegal or legal assistant"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "legal research"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings, i.e. leg* will search legal, legislative, legality, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "paralegal and case studies"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "paralegal or legal assistant"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "legal research"
6. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings, i.e. leg* will search legal, legislative, legality, etc.
Exercises from Legal Writing in Plain English (U. of Chicago Press)
Legal Writing (Cornell Law School)
10 Tips for Better Legal Writing (ABA)
Writing Resources for Legal Writers (U. of Washington)
Legal Writing (Cornell Law School)
10 Tips for Better Legal Writing (ABA)
Writing Resources for Legal Writers (U. of Washington)
CareerOneStop
CareerWise
O*Net
Occupational Outlook HandbookBecoming a Paralegal (Learning Express Library eBook; you must create an account with LEL to access the eBook)
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org