Welcome to the Erickson Library's Nursing Assistant guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Databases
- CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. - Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. - Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. - Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers. - PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.
1. Useful keywords: nursing assistant, CNA, home health aide
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "nursing and communication"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "nursing or cna"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "nursing assistant"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. nurs* will search nursing, nurse, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "nursing and communication"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "nursing or cna"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "nursing assistant"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. nurs* will search nursing, nurse, etc.
Dementia Care: A Handbook for Long-Term Care Certified Nursing Assistants
Learning Express Library Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aid includes flashcards, practice exams, and test prep eBooks. You'll need to create an account and password to use these features.
ICE Video Library
Includes videos on mobility, outpatient assessment, self-care, dementia, in the skilled nursing facility, in the ICU, and more.
Includes videos on mobility, outpatient assessment, self-care, dementia, in the skilled nursing facility, in the ICU, and more.
Assisting the Patient with Self-Administration of Medication
Bowel and Bladder Retraining
Communication with Cognitively Impaired Clients
Emotional Needs of the Resident
Improving Your Observation and Documentation Skills in Nursing
Nutrition for the Older Adult
Proper Transfer Techniques for the Health Care Professional
Skin Integrity and Pressure Ulcers
Wound Management
Bowel and Bladder Retraining
Communication with Cognitively Impaired Clients
Emotional Needs of the Resident
Improving Your Observation and Documentation Skills in Nursing
Nutrition for the Older Adult
Proper Transfer Techniques for the Health Care Professional
Skin Integrity and Pressure Ulcers
Wound Management