Welcome to the Erickson Library's Public Speaking guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: public speaking, communication, speech.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Credo Reference
A few keywords to try: public speaking, communication, speech.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
Credo Reference
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
APA Style
On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
APA Style Tutorial
This tutorial shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
EasyBib
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
MLA Style
MLA Style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.
MLA Citation EBook
After downloading this EBook, you will be able to learn proper citation formatting for MLA, explain the fundamental elements of a MLA citation, and much more.
Citation Machine
Citation Machine uses and easy to use 3 step process to create your citations.
Duke University Citing Sources
This website offers help with citing information in various styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.
KnightCite
KnightCite simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation.
Oops, I Plagiarized
This site explains how to avoid accidentally plagiarizing, how to cite things correctly, and when it's appropriate to cite them.
On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
APA Style Tutorial
This tutorial shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
EasyBib
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
MLA Style
MLA Style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.
MLA Citation EBook
After downloading this EBook, you will be able to learn proper citation formatting for MLA, explain the fundamental elements of a MLA citation, and much more.
Citation Machine
Citation Machine uses and easy to use 3 step process to create your citations.
Duke University Citing Sources
This website offers help with citing information in various styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.
KnightCite
KnightCite simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation.
Oops, I Plagiarized
This site explains how to avoid accidentally plagiarizing, how to cite things correctly, and when it's appropriate to cite them.
- Opposing Viewpoints
This online resource covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. It includes rich resources for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, news, images, video, and more. - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View is a full-text database that offers students with a series of comprehensive essays with point and counterpoint arguments related to current issues in the news. Points of View Reference Center Tutorial - Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences.
1. Useful keywords: public speaking, communication studies
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "public speaking and techniques"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "public speaking or oral speech"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "public speaking"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. speak* will search speaking, speak, speakers, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "public speaking and techniques"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "public speaking or oral speech"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "public speaking"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. speak* will search speaking, speak, speakers, etc.