Welcome to the Erickson Library's Religion subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Confucius, Buddhism, Religious Studies
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
A few keywords to try: Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Confucius, Buddhism, Religious Studies
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
BL: Religions, Mythology, Rationalism
BM: Judaism
BP: Islam
BQ: Buddhism
BR: Christianity
BS: The Bible
BT: Doctrinal Theology
BV: Practical Theology
BX: Christian Denominations
BM: Judaism
BP: Islam
BQ: Buddhism
BR: Christianity
BS: The Bible
BT: Doctrinal Theology
BV: Practical Theology
BX: Christian Denominations
The Art of Living: Peace and Freedom in the Here and NowCall number: Main BQ4302 .N424 2017
Geography of Religion: Where God Lives, Where Pilgrims Walk
Call number: Main BL65.G4 H58 2012
Handbook of Ancient ReligionsCall number: Main BL41 .H325 2007
A history of JudaismCall number: Main BM155.3 .G66 2018
Oxford Bible CommentaryCall number: Main BS491.3 .O94 2007
Critical Terms for Religious Studies
HarperCollins Bible DictionaryCall number: Reference BS440 .H235 2011
Oxford Bible AtlasCall number: Reference BS630 .O96 2009
- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Basic Search Video. - Britannica Academic
Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and more. - JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences. - Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial. - Opposing Viewpoints
This online resource covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. It includes rich resources for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, news, images, video, and more. - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View is a full-text database that offers students with a series of comprehensive essays with point and counterpoint arguments related to current issues in the news. Points of View Reference Center Tutorial
1. Useful keywords: religious studies, Christianity, Confucius, Islam
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "christianity and old testament"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "Confucianism or Buddhism"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "religious studies"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. relig* will search religion, religious, etc.
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "christianity and old testament"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "Confucianism or Buddhism"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "religious studies"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. relig* will search religion, religious, etc.
You can find journals on a variety of religions, and topics within religions by clicking on This Link Here. You'll find most of these journals are available online.
Association for Religious Data ArchivesThe ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on relgion. Founded in 1997, and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at reseraches interested in American Religion. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Introduction to Philosophy : Philosophy of Religionby Beau Branson; from eCampus Ontario
World Religions: the Spirit SearchingbyJody Ondich
Philosophy of Western Religionsby Noah Levin
South and East Asian Philosophy Reader
by Noah Levin
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
