Welcome to the Erickson Library's Sociology subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions.
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
Sociology is a large topic so you'll want to consider what aspect of sociology you are interested in researching. In the Humanities section of Credo Reference (when you first enter the database) you'll find various popular topics: minimum wage, social inequality, violence in the workplace, racial profiling, human rights, gun control, and many more.
You can also do a search for sociology to get background information from encyclopedias, on the subject of sociology as a whole.
Sociology is a large topic so you'll want to consider what aspect of sociology you are interested in researching. In the Humanities section of Credo Reference (when you first enter the database) you'll find various popular topics: minimum wage, social inequality, violence in the workplace, racial profiling, human rights, gun control, and many more.
You can also do a search for sociology to get background information from encyclopedias, on the subject of sociology as a whole.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.
Your instructor will let you know which citation style you should use for your assignment. Purdue OWL offers introductory guides to various styles:
Purdue OWL: AMA for print or AMA for online
Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide (7th Edition)
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and style guide
Purdue OWL: AMA for print or AMA for online
Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide (7th Edition)
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: MLA formatting and style guide
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-5:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
$2.00 a day: living on almost nothing in America (MAIN HC110 .P6 E343 2015)
Caste: the origins of our discontents (HT725 .U6 W55 2020)
Dopesick: dealers, doctors, and the drug company that addicted America (RC568 .o45 M33 2018)
Evicted: poverty and profit in the American city (MAIN HD 7287.96 .U6 D47 2016)
Race, ethnicity, gender, & class: the sociology of group conflict and change (MAIN E184 .A1 H415 2015)
White fragility: why it's so hard for White people to talk about racism (MAIN HT1521 .D486 2018)- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Ebscohost Tutorial. - Duluth News Tribune
Full-text newspaper articles from Duluth News Tribune from 1995-date. - EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News. - JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences. - MasterFILE Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications. Contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Includes Consumer Reports, Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, People, and thousands of other titles. - Opposing Viewpoints
This online resource covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. It includes rich resources for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, news, images, video, and more. - Points of View Reference Center
Points of View is a full-text database that offers students with a series of comprehensive essays with point and counterpoint arguments related to current issues in the news. Points of View Reference Center Tutorial - GreenFILE
Access resources on global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. - Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior is the world’s most extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. Global Road Warrior consists of 174 Country Guides of 119 topics each. No other single resource covers so many topics, so well, for so many countries.
These journal titles are located in the Periodicals section of the Erickson Library.
Contexts
Peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers a smartly written, thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities. It's an indispensable guide to understanding our dynamic society. An official pubblication of the ASA.
Social Problems
Research publication that covers many areas of sociology including conflict and change; crime and juvenile delinquency, health and mental health; poverty, class, and inequality among other current issues.
Contexts
Peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers a smartly written, thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities. It's an indispensable guide to understanding our dynamic society. An official pubblication of the ASA.
Social Problems
Research publication that covers many areas of sociology including conflict and change; crime and juvenile delinquency, health and mental health; poverty, class, and inequality among other current issues.
APA Faq's
Answers to general questions about APA style
EasyBIB
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography
InfoPlease: Selected Activists and Reformers
Biographies of a varied list of social activists and reformers
Answers to general questions about APA style
EasyBIB
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography
InfoPlease: Selected Activists and Reformers
Biographies of a varied list of social activists and reformers
BC Campus OpenEd
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
LibreTexts
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Merlot Collection
Milne Open Textbooks
MIT OpenCourseWare (Sociology)
National Academies (Behavioral and Social Sciences)
OAPEN (Open Access)
OASIS
OER Commons
Opendora
OpenStax
Open Research Library
Open Textbook Library
Pressbooks
Saylor Academy (Sociology)
Textbook Equity Open Education
Utah State University Press
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
LibreTexts
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Merlot Collection
Milne Open Textbooks
MIT OpenCourseWare (Sociology)
National Academies (Behavioral and Social Sciences)
OAPEN (Open Access)
OASIS
OER Commons
Opendora
OpenStax
Open Research Library
Open Textbook Library
Pressbooks
Saylor Academy (Sociology)
Textbook Equity Open Education
Utah State University Press
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
Beyond Race: Cultural Influences on Human Social Life by Vera Kennedy, 2018
Classical Sociological Theory and Foundations of American Sociology by Allison L. Hurst, 2018Intimate Relationships and Families (Sociology 103 v. 2) by Ron Hammond and Paul Cheney
Introduction to Sociology 3e by Tonja Conerely, Kathleen Holmes, Asha Lal Tamang, 2021
Introduction to Sociology 2e by Heather Griffiths, Nathan Keirns, Eric Strayer, et al., 2015
Introduction to Sociology 3rd Canadian Edition by William Little, 2023
Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies by Mliann Kang, Donovan Lessard, Laura Heston, 2017
Together: The Science of Social Psychology by R. Biswas-Diener and E. Diener, 2017