Welding

Welcome to the Erickson Library's Welding guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources. 

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!

This list is not exhaustive. More eBooks can be found in the Ebsco eBook Collection search. You'll need to log-in with your StarID and password to access the eBook Collection.

• Welding Handbook by Annette O'Brien
  • Volume 2, Part 1, Welding Processes
  • Volume 3, Part 2, Welding Processes
  • Volume 4, Part 1, Materials and Applications
  • Volume 5, Part 2, Materials and Applications

Joining: Understanding the Basics by F.C. Campbell








Welding: Processes, Quality, and Applications by Richard Klein









Welding Metallurgy by Sindo Kou









 

Blueprint Reading for Welders
Call number: Main T379 .B38 2014






Machinery's Handbook (30th edition)
Call number: Reference TJ151 .O245 2016






Welding: Principles and Applications
Call number: Main TS227 .J444 2017





 

AWS Podcast

A History of Welding
Source for video and still images, self-quizzes and games, dictionary terms and more

Instructables
Users create and share videos, pictures and slideshows of their own creations

MatWeb (Material Property Data)
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties include data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers; metals; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials

Practical Welding Television

Problem and Project Based Learning: Welding (Skills Commons)

The Welder

Welding 101 Hobart
Glossary of terms and printable how-to guides in PDF format

Welding Learning Objects (Wisconsin Online)

Welding Terms, Glossary

Welding Tips and Tricks
 

Welding (Films on Demand)

CareerOneStop




CareerWise


O*NET




Occupational Outlook Handbook



 

American Welding Society (AWS)





International Institute of Welding (IIW)





The Welding Institute (TWI)
 

1. Useful keywords: welding, shielded metal, GTAW 
2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms.
3. Use and to combine keywords, i.e. "welding and joints"
4. Use or to expand your results, i.e. "gas tungsten arc welding or GTAW"
5. Use "quotaton marks" to search keywords as a phrase, i.e. "TIG welding"
6. Use an asterik* to search multiple endings, i.e. weld* will search welder, welding, etc.

Welding International
Welding Journal
World of Welding

• Gas Metal Arc Welding (2012)

Covers the basics of gas metal arc welding. Explains the function and specifications of the electrode or “filler wire” as well as the other GMAW tool components. Safety, transfer modes, general setup procedures, laying and reading beads, and other topics are featured.

• Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (2012)

GTAW is also known as “TIG” (tungsten inert gas) welding and uses a nonconsumable electrode to make high-quality welds on both ferrous and nonferrous metals. Viewers learn how to select and prepare the right electrode (an AWS chart is illustrated), how to ensure safe working conditions, and how to set up the GTAW system for quality welds. An advanced segment covers joint types from butt to tee and helps troubleshoot problems like excessive tungsten wear, tungsten spitting, a porous weld, and an unstable arc.

• Introduction to Gas Metal Arc Welding and Flux Core Welding (1998)

There are a lot of similarities between Gas Metal Arc Welding (MIG) and Flux Core Arc Welding, including the use of direct current to provide constant voltage. Viewers will also learn about the different types of electrodes wires used in each outfit. Wire feeders are demonstrated along with the spools that feed them—containing several hundred feet of electrode wire...allowing welders to make long continuous welds. Students see how to position the electrode and how to establish a good weld pool. As in all of the welding videos, safety practices are clearly demonstrated and explained.

• Introduction to Oxyfuel Welding (1998)

This video very clearly explains and demonstrates the careful and safe method of using the combination of acetylene and oxygen gas cylinders. Pressure regulators, check valves, and hoses and fittings are demonstrated as well as torch tubes and tips. Clear instructions on ignition, use of the outfit, and shutting down are provided along with tips on flame adjustment and methods to direct it to the work area. Also demonstrated are various welding techniques and types of welds.

• Joining Metals (2006)

This program is an excellent introduction to the joining of metals, discussing both fusion and nonfusion methods, and explaining the advantages of welding over non-welding techniques. Students will learn about the equipment needed, operating procedures, and preparation of materials for welding, along with safety considerations. Nonfusion methods such as soldering, brazing, bronze welding, and spot welding are outlined, and fusion methods including shield metallic arc welding, MIG, TIG, and oxyacetylene welding are demonstrated. Specific joints, such as butt joints and fillet joints, are also explained.

• Modern Marvels: Welding (2007)

Covers Electric Arc, Explosion Welding, Underwater, Robotic, and Friction Welding

• Oxy-Fuel and Plasma Cutting (2012)

This video serves as a basic guide to two popular heat-based cutting methods: oxy-fuel and plasma. Beginning with an overview of safety procedures, the video shows how to set up an oxyacetylene system and demonstrates correct coupling distance, travel speed, torch angle, machine finishing, and other aspects of handheld cutting. Additional fuel choices are listed, too. The plasma segment includes a basic definition of what plasma is and how it is able to cut. Viewers learn the fine points of setting up and cutting with a plasma system and are given numerous tips and guidelines, from one- and two-hand torch manipulation to troubleshooting various problems.

• Shielded Metal Arc Welding (2012)

Often referred to as “stick welding,” SMAW has been used for decades to weld most metals and alloys. This video helps students learn the basics of the SMAW method, in which the electrode is consumable and becomes part of the weld. Identifying critical system components, the video explains different power types and power levels and includes a discussion of DCRP, DCSP, and AC modes. It then shows how to choose the correct welding rod, make sure that all equipment and working conditions meet professional safety standards, set up the system to begin work, correctly lay a bead, and read or inspect a bead. A segment on advanced techniques looks at several types of joints—edge, corner, lap, and tee joints as well as various butt joints—in addition to root, fill, and cap passes. Solving the problem of arc blow is also covered.

• Tools of the Trade: Inside the Welder's Toolbox (2008)

Welding is part skill, part science, and a whole lot of precautions. This program shows viewers the safe way to work with fire, gas, and molten metal as it profiles the tools used by welders to perform a variety of tasks. Specific tools and equipment for OFW, GMAW, GTAW, and SMAW are spotlighted, along with a variety of general tools and safety items. The video also takes a look at basic welding diagrams and pre-welding treatment of materials.

• Welding (2005)

Covers Auto Repair: Fusion, MIG, Weld Types, Techniques, Safety, and Making Welds

• Welding Safety (2011)

Covers the most important safety rules and protective equipment to use when performing MIG, TIG, arc, and gas welding. Welding helmets and their lens ratings, leather aprons and gloves, welding gas repirators, heat shields, and fire extinguishers are discuessed, and various types of welders, including plasma cutters, are illustrated.

AWS YouTube Channel

Diversity and Inclusion (AWS)
Diversity and Inclusion (The Welding Institute)
Welding Workforce Data (AWS)
Women in Welding Profiles (Weld Australia)

Advice to Female Welders From Female Welders (The Welder)
Women Teaching Women to Weld (SkillPointe)

Welder Demographics and Statistics in the US
Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers (BLS)

LSC's Center for Equity and Inclusion

Diversity Activities Resource Guide  Engaging, hands-on activities that allow participants to gain a greater understanding of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion topics.

Global Road Warrior Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. 
 

Sources for free stock photos shared by creators; search by both your course subject and "diversity".

•         Pexels
•          Unsplash
•          Creative Commons Image Search
•          Pixabay