Main

Table of Contents

All Items by Source


Reference

Credo General Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the most comprehensive online reference source for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Oxford Art Online features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, timelines of world art, MoMa lesson plans, as well as access to the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
The Dictionary of Art
Print Location: REFERENCE N31 .D5 1996
The Dictionary of Art is the only comprehensive source of information on all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s. Within its 34 volumes you will find 41,000 articles, 500,000 bibliographic citations, and 15,000 illustrations.
note: Link to the electronic database 
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Print Location: REFERENCE N 33 .O94 2001
This book has over 2,500 entries, alphabetically arranged. Almost half of them cover artists, from classical times to the 20th century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media.

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Megafile
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCOs Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.

Video Recording

Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Kanopy
This is a pilot, we’re offering this with a limited budget. Kanopy contains thousands of award-winning documentaries and theatrical releases. Producers include the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources. Login to view the catalog, we pay after a title has been viewed four times.
note: Click to login with your starID and password.
Swank Films
We have limited film titles that we can switch out at any one time, these titles will have unlimited access to view but unlike Films on Demand, we don’t have access to the entire catalog of 25,000+ films. Swank has more feature films. Login to the Swank Films Digital Campus to see titles that have been licensed already and search to see available titles.  
note: Click on a title you’d like to request and it sends it to the librarians to activate.

Journals/Magazines

Forecast Public Art (Public Art Review)
Public Art Review, published by Forecast Public Art, is devoted exclusively to the field of contemporary public art. Published bi-annually for 24 years, the magazine is the premier source for public art information around the world. 

Web Sites

Art cyclopedia: The Fine Art Search Engine
One of the best guides to online fine art. Searchable, with links to more than 100,000 images in all kinds of art.
Art History Resources on the Web
An extensive set of links to web sites with materials related to the history of art. Created by Chris Witcombe, Sweet Briar College.
Contemporary Art - World Wide Arts Resources - absolutearts.com
Artists, marketplace sites, museums, galleries, quality art, art history, arts education,portfolios, services, news.
Google Arts & Culture
A unique collaboration with some of the world's most acclaimed art museums to enable people to discover and view more than a thousand artworks online in extraordinary detail.
MNArtists
An online database of Minnesota artists and organizations from all disciplines. It offers to Minnesota-based artists a central gathering place on the Web, and will grow to become a marketplace and community hub.
The Artists Tool Kit: ArtsConnectEd
Explore the combined collections of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and the Walker Art Center through hundreds of new features in ArtsConnectEd. Search over 100,000 resources in the Art Finder, including works of art, texts, audio, video, and interactive resources. 
note: uses adobe flash player
The Getty Research Institute (Digital Collection)
Digital Collections provide free access to a growing number of digitized items from the Research Library, Special Collections, Photo Archive, and Institutional Archives. These materials range from the 15th century to the present and include books, photographs, manuscripts, archives, and works on paper.
WikiArt
The project aims to create high-quality, most complete and well-structured online repository of fine art.

Atlases

Atlas of World Art
Print Location: REFERENCE N5300 .A85 2004
The Atlas is divided into seven parts, each devoted to a specific time period: Art of the Hunter Gatherer (50,000-5,000 BCE); Art, Agriculture and Urbanization (5,000-500 BCE); Art, War and Empire (500 BCE-600 CE); Art, Religion and Empire (600-1500); Art, Exploitation and Display (1500-1800); Art, Industry and Science (1800-1900); Art, Competition and Identity (1900-2000). Each section opens with a helpful timeline for that period bringing together important dates from across various cultures

Biographical Information

Who's Who in American Art, 2011
Print Location: REFERENCE N6537 .W28 S34 2011

Directories

AskART
AskART is an online database containing over 270,000 artists. From its inception the focus was on American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present. However, in January of 2007 the database expanded to include international artists' auction records.

Images

CAMIO
CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Visual Arts Curated Video Collection
This is a directory of resources relating to Art, especially as it is presented in video. Included are links to the Art Historians' Guide to the Movies, The Art on Screen Database (created by the Institute of Museum & Library Services).

Organizations

American Craft Council
 The American Craft Council (ACC) is a national, nonprofit educational organization founded in 1943 by Aileen Osborn Webb. With a mission to promote understanding and appreciation of contemporary American craft, we celebrate the remarkable achievements of the many gifted artists today who are working with a variety of materials.
College Art Association
 The College Art Association (CAA) promotes the visual arts and their understanding through committed practice and intellectual engagement.
Minnesota Center for Book Arts
Minnesota Center for Book Arts is the largest and most comprehensive center of its kind. They celebrate the book as a vibrant contemporary art form that takes many shapes; our mission is clear: to lead the advancement of the book as an evolving art form.