CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of current political and social issues. A great resource for "controversial topics" assignments.
Provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of current political and social issues. A great resource for "controversial topics" assignments.
Credo General Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes
Megafile
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCOs Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCOs Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Proquest Newspapers
An index to the articles appearing in more than 400 national and international newspapers, including the Minneapolis Star Tribune.
An index to the articles appearing in more than 400 national and international newspapers, including the Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Activities for ESL Students
Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)
This project of The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org) has thousands of contributions by many teachers.
Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)
This project of The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org) has thousands of contributions by many teachers.
Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
This popular book is an indispensable and entertaining guide for writers, proofreaders, editors, managers, clerical staff, teachers, and students. Use this site to find the answers to your questions concerning proper English grammar and punctuation.
This popular book is an indispensable and entertaining guide for writers, proofreaders, editors, managers, clerical staff, teachers, and students. Use this site to find the answers to your questions concerning proper English grammar and punctuation.
Dave's ESL Cafe
"The Internet's meeting place for ESL + EFL teachers + students from around the world" Job opportunities, quizzes and lessons.
"The Internet's meeting place for ESL + EFL teachers + students from around the world" Job opportunities, quizzes and lessons.
ESL Reading--Resources and Exercises
Reading comprehension exercises for English as a Second Language readers.
Reading comprehension exercises for English as a Second Language readers.
Linguist List: Language Learning
A great list of ESOL internet based resources from Eastern Michigan University.
A great list of ESOL internet based resources from Eastern Michigan University.
Listen and Repeat Podcast: Improve Your English Pronunciation
This web site is for people studying English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as a Foreign Language (EFL). There are quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities.
This web site is for people studying English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as a Foreign Language (EFL). There are quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities.
Listening/Speaking links for ESOL - Richland College
ESOL listening and speaking links from Richland College.
ESOL listening and speaking links from Richland College.
PIZZAZ, Creative Writing & Storytelling, Opp-Beckman
Simple creative writing and oral storytelling activities with printable handouts for: Poetry | Fiction | Bag of Tricks. These activities scale well to beginner through advanced level proficiency and can be used with all ages.
Simple creative writing and oral storytelling activities with printable handouts for: Poetry | Fiction | Bag of Tricks. These activities scale well to beginner through advanced level proficiency and can be used with all ages.
Purdue Online Writing Lab - APA Citation
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
Purdue Online Writing Lab - MLA Citation
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.