Main

Table of Contents

All Items by Source


Reference

Credo General Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Ebooks

EBSCO Ebooks
Offers a collection of electronic versions of current scholarly and academic press books, as well as trade books for academic libraries. Over 80, 000 full text books where you can open an account, read online, annotate and cite your book with just a few clicks.

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR
Established in 1997, JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Overall, there are 119 titles in fifteen disciplines.
Megafile
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCOs Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.

Video Recording

Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

Web Sites

American Women's History: A Research Guide
Offers clearly organized information on more than 1,000 resources in print and online, with over 700 links. It was created by Ken Middleton, a reference librarian at Middle Tennessee State University (Diana Hacker, 2003).  It was last updated on March 15, 2010.
Black American Feminisms Bibliography
Compiled by Sherri Barnes, Associate Librarian at the University of California, Santa Barbara this site provides the convenience of the Web with the quality of traditional library resources.
Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World
Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and a a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Africa is both the most clearly defined of continents - in its geography - and the hardest to pin down in historical terms. Human beings originated in Africa and, as a result, there is more diversity of human types and societies than anywhere else. It is not possible, in any non-ideological way, to claim any one of these peoples or societies as more essentially "African" than others; nor is it possible to exclude a given society as "not really African".
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
The Ancient History Sourcebook includes links to visual and aural material, since art and archeology are far more important for the periods in question than for later history. The emphasis remains on access to primary source texts for educational purposes.
Internet East Asian History
There is no way of avoiding the fact that China is the central culture of Eastern Asia. Massively larger than any of her neighbors, China may have developed its cultural forms in relative isolation, but since the advent of Buddhism has both absorbed outside influences and disseminated its own culture. Japanese, Korean and Vietnamese cultures are not comprehensible without taking into account power of Chinese culture in art, literature and religion.
Internet Global History Sourcebook
This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks tagged with Fordham. For more contextual information, for instance about the Islamic world, check out these web sites.
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed below, along with added texts and web site indicators. For more contextual information, for instance about Western imperialism, the Islamic world, or the history of a given period, check out the other Fordham.edu sourcebooks.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed through Fordham.edu, along with added texts and web site indicators. For more contextual information, for instance about Western imperialism, or the history of a given period, check out these web sites.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed with the Fordham tag, along with added texts and web site indicators. For more contextual information, for instance about Western imperialism, the Islamic world, or the history of a given period, check out these web sites.
Internet Medieval History Sourcebook
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary documents.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
These various approaches to the history of women are not exclusive. This sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.
The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies.

Government Information

Economic Report of the President
Sponsored by the Executive Office of the President and located at the Web site of the U.S. Government Printing Office, the report explains the rational for the budget submitted to Congress. Of particular interest are the tables that cover income, production, and employment in time series (Diana Hacker, 2003). 1995 to current.
National Archives and Records Administration
 Portal for searching for documents, records, and items in the National Archives and Records Administration (United States).
National Archives Digital Vault
 An interactive digital collection created by the National Archives and Records Administration.

Images

Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, which is more than 10 years old, is a project of the Minnesota Digital Library. The collection brings you more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public. We add collections and items throughout the year so check back often.

Organizations

National Security Archive
The Web site of a project that has collected the world's largest non-governmental archive of declassified documents, many of them covering controversial issues and obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. Though many documents are not accessible through the Web site, there are collections of papers called "briefing books" on a variety of foreign affairs topics. The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library at George Washington University (Diana Hacker, 2003).

Primary Sources

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of primary source (full-text) documents particularly rich in legal and diplomatic history. Organized by period and topic and searchable by keyword, this collection is well edited and high quality. Documents include internal links to materials referenced in the text (Diana Hacker, 2003).