Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Reference

Credo General Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Megafile
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCOs Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.

Video Recording

Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

Newspapers

Proquest Newspapers
An index to the articles appearing in more than 400 national and international newspapers, including the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Web Sites

Congress.org
Congress.org is a non-partisan website dedicated to building a knowledge base for professionals wishing to better engage their communities. Highlighting the latest trends, success stories, effective or creative implementations and more, professionals from a whole host of backgrounds, whether in marketing, government affairs, communications or otherwise, can share their knowledge and gain insight from the larger advocacy community.
Foreign Affairs Online
A meta-index to sites related to international law, international relations, and U.S. foreign policy. Well organized and annotated, this site is hosted by the Department of Information Technology and Communication at the University of Virginia (Diana Hacker, 2003).
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR was established in 1962 and is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
Policy Agendas Project
The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.

Government Information

Economic Report of the President
Sponsored by the Executive Office of the President and located at the Web site of the U.S. Government Printing Office, the report explains the rational for the budget submitted to Congress. Of particular interest are the tables that cover income, production, and employment in time series (Diana Hacker, 2003). 1995 to current.
Supreme Court of the United States
The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at nine.
U.S. Government Publishing Office
The U.S. Government Publishing Office disseminates official information from all three branches (legislative, executive and judicial) of the Federal Government.
US Census Bureau
Replaces American FactFinder as the portal to US Census data. Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more.

Organizations

Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in over 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.

Organizational vision is for every person to enjoy all the rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights standards.

Independent of any government, political ideology, economic interest or religion, and they are funded mainly by membership and public donations.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights. By focusing international attention where human rights are violated, we give voice to the oppressed and hold oppressors accountable for their crimes. Our rigorous, objective investigations and strategic, targeted advocacy build intense pressure for action and raise the cost of human rights abuse. For more than 30 years, Human Rights Watch has worked tenaciously to lay the legal and moral groundwork for deep-rooted change and has fought to bring greater justice and security to people around the world.
Institute for Social Research
"The University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR) is one of the largest and oldest academic survey and social research organizations in the world. Representing the disciplines of psychology, political science, economics, anthropology and public health, ISR research scientists have directed some of the longest-running and most widely cited and utilized studies in the nation."
National Security Archive
The Web site of a project that has collected the world's largest non-governmental archive of declassified documents, many of them covering controversial issues and obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. Though many documents are not accessible through the Web site, there are collections of papers called "briefing books" on a variety of foreign affairs topics. The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library at George Washington University (Diana Hacker, 2003).
National Security Archive
The Web site of a project that has collected the world's largest non-governmental archive of declassified documents, many of them covering controversial issues and obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. Though many documents are not accessible through the Web site, there are collections of papers called "briefing books" on a variety of foreign affairs topics. The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library at George Washington University (Diana Hacker, 2003).
United Nations
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.

Due to its unique international character, and the powers vested in its founding Charter, the Organization can take action on a wide range of issues, and provide a forum for its 193 Member States to express their views, through the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and other bodies and committees

Primary Sources

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of primary source (full-text) documents particularly rich in legal and diplomatic history. Organized by period and topic and searchable by keyword, this collection is well edited and high quality. Documents include internal links to materials referenced in the text (Diana Hacker, 2003).

Statistics/Data

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. is the most important source for statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of life in the United States. This resource is published every February and covers the previous year's statistics. This data is historical, as the U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.