All Items by Source

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Megafile
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCOs Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Video Recording

Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

Web Sites

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR was established in 1962 and is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
Internet Resources for Sociology
"This guide provides descriptions of commonly used library resources for sociological research." Courtesy of NYU
Sociology - Available Data Resources
The American Sociological Association (ASA) provides a very useful selection of "publicly available data sets for primary and secondary analysis" of data.

Government Information

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts.
Minnesota Compass
Minnesota Compass is a social indicators project that measures progress in our state, its seven regions, 87 counties and larger cities. Compass tracks trends in topic areas such as education, economy and workforce, health, housing, public safety, and a host of others.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Our mission is to advance science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and to apply that knowledge to improve individual and public health.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Organizations

Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in over 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.

Organizational vision is for every person to enjoy all the rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights standards.

Independent of any government, political ideology, economic interest or religion, and they are funded mainly by membership and public donations.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights. By focusing international attention where human rights are violated, we give voice to the oppressed and hold oppressors accountable for their crimes. Our rigorous, objective investigations and strategic, targeted advocacy build intense pressure for action and raise the cost of human rights abuse. For more than 30 years, Human Rights Watch has worked tenaciously to lay the legal and moral groundwork for deep-rooted change and has fought to bring greater justice and security to people around the world.
Institute for Social Research
"The University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR) is one of the largest and oldest academic survey and social research organizations in the world. Representing the disciplines of psychology, political science, economics, anthropology and public health, ISR research scientists have directed some of the longest-running and most widely cited and utilized studies in the nation."

Statistics/Data

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. is the most important source for statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of life in the United States. This resource is published every February and covers the previous year's statistics. This data is historical, as the U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.
Table of Contents
Librarians
NHCC Library Blog
Where you can find us