Research Guide for

ENGC 0800 Fundamentals of Writing (Reid)

Reference and Background

Use these databases to search for broad topics like study skills, multitasking, time management, test anxiety, etc.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Find Articles

Use these databases to search for more specific topics. For example, college student time management, college student study habits, etc. Limit your results to magazines, newspapers, and reference articles.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of current issues.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

Career Information

These databases will have information on jobs and careers.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center - for career exploration and planning. Research professions and industries, watch career Q & A videos, search for scholarships, and more. Salem Careers (Salem Press) - A collection of e-books profiling many different careers.

Find Books

Combined Search & Databases List

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 


Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.