Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Articles - broad overviews of topics. Search by the person you are researching, e.g. Steve Jobs or Martin Luther King Jr.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Great Lives from History: Twentieth Century - list of ALL entries in this ebook. Use ctrl + F to search for your person, or use the search box on the left. 


 

Find Articles

General Databases - All subjects, all types of sources

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

Academic Databases - Academic journals only

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Project MUSE
Provides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.

Find Books

Combined Search

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.