Overviews of social customs and daily life from prehistory to the present. Useful for understanding the content of your art object or how it fits into the society.
Tips:
- How to Search: Use general terms like egytian art or roman clothing.
- How to Filter Results: Use the Select Time Periods filter on the left side of the page.
- How to Find Related Pages: Expand the General Resources lists on the left side of the page for links to related entries.
Ancient & Medieval History (Infobase)
Early world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s organized by region and time period. May provide useful historical context about the society your art object was created in.
History and Mythology Encyclopedias (Gale eBooks)
A collection of history and mythology encyclopedias covering the regions of Western art history in the time periods studied in the Foundation of Art 1 class.
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists (CREDO Reference)
Short biographies of over 1300 artists.
Smarthistory
Credible essays and videos about art history topics. Browse by region and time period or search for specific artists or works of art.
Use the Library's Combined Search to look for articles, videos, and books and ebooks on art and history including specific artists and works.
Tips:- If you are off campus, after you search use the filters on the left side of the page to show only results Available Online.
- To search for information about a particular work of art, put the title of the artwork in quotation marks – for example, "birth of venus." Using quotation marks forces the search engine to only return results where those words appear exactly in that order. If there are many works with the same name, you may need to add the name of the artist to your search.
- You can also search for a type of artwork with words that describe the kind of item such as scarab amulets.
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Google Scholar
Search for academic articles on publisher and other websites. When you use this link to connect to Google Scholar through the Library, your search results will include links to articles available in Normandale Library databases whenever possible. Look for the "Article @ Normandale Lib." links to access the full article through the Library.
Note: Not all articles in your search results will be available through the Library. Need an article we don’t have? Submit an interlibrary loan request.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Lacey MamakReference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
Install the LibKey Nomad browser extension to connect to library databases from Google Scholar, Wikipedia references, and publisher websites. Download the extension and set your library as Normandale.
Video: LibKey Nomad Explained.