Research Guides

BIOL 1100 Survey of Biology (Dambroski)

General Reference Materials
Use these databases for general information on your general topic for your project. 

Credo Reference -- Science
Credo logoCredo Reference -- Science includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, and more in the area of science.  The titles in Credo Reference are from over eighty of the world's leading academic publishers. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.
Find Articles
BioOne
Search and access full text and full image articles from over 60 scholarly journals about biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Science (Gale OneFile)
A collection of hundreds of science journals


JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.

Developing Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Keyword Worksheet
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.

Powered by SubjectsPlus