Use keywords based on your topic to search the database. Make sure that you have alternate terms, synonyms, and similar topics in mind when searching the databases, so you can mix and match your keywords when searching.
For this extra-credit assignment, you’ll be finding an article that relates biology or an element of the scientific process to your major. This means you will be searching for a biology/science concept + a concept from your major. For example, if you were majoring in communications, you might look at how the scientific method is applied to journalism.
Watch this video about brainstorming keywords and searching the databases.
For this extra-credit assignment, you’ll be finding an article that relates biology or an element of the scientific process to your major. This means you will be searching for a biology/science concept + a concept from your major. For example, if you were majoring in communications, you might look at how the scientific method is applied to journalism.
Watch this video about brainstorming keywords and searching the databases.
Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
Combined Search
Individual Publications
Journal Title Search
Here's the online records for a few publications you might look in to find articles. Look for a a link or search box that says something like "Search within this publication":
Scientific American
Nature
Science (via JSTOR, 1880-2012)
Science (via publication website, 1997-present)
Smithsonian
Popular Science
Discover
The New Yorker
The Scientist
Science News
National Geographic
The New York Times
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives. Combined Search
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Individual Publications
Journal Title Search
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Here's the online records for a few publications you might look in to find articles. Look for a a link or search box that says something like "Search within this publication":
Scientific American
Nature
Science (via JSTOR, 1880-2012)
Science (via publication website, 1997-present)
Smithsonian
Popular Science
Discover
The New Yorker
The Scientist
Science News
National Geographic
The New York Times
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.