Research Guides

BIOL 1100 Survey of Biology (Muncy)

Find Websites
Websites can have valuable information, provided they are authored and published by credible people or organizations.  Below are some suggested web sources.  If you search online on your own, be sure to use the CAPPS Test. 
Scientific American

How Stuff Works - Science

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Find Articles
Encyclopedias articles provide broad topic overviews.  They can be helpful when first starting research, as they often supply definitions of terms or ideas.  

Environment E-book Collection (Gale)
This collection contains encyclopedias and reference books in a variety of environmental topics including climate change, pollution, recycling, alternative energy, and more.

Salem Science
Salem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more.


Films on Demand: Biology
Films and videos covering the topics of general biology, human anatomy, physiology, plant and animal biology, marine biology, microbiology and ecology.
 
Articles from scholarly journals are written by scientists and reflect the latest research in the field. 

ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
The Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.

Science (Gale OneFile)
A collection of hundreds of science journals


Science Magazine
Online version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.


Environmental Science and Technology
Environmental Science & Technology (ES&T) is an authoritative source of information for professionals in a wide range of environmental disciplines. The journal combines magazine and research sections and is published both in print and online.
 
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf

Powered by SubjectsPlus