The topic you will be researching is salt tolerant bacteria and its potential use for bioremediation of soil exposed to high amounts of salt. To research this topic, you will be searching databases for academic journal articles.
How do you search databases? You search by translating your topic into keywords. Here is a short video on database searching.
What is peer review and what is a peer-reviewed journal? (Note - peer-reviewed journals are also called academic journals, or scholarly journals - don't let the name confuse you; they all refer to the same thing.)
How do you search databases? You search by translating your topic into keywords. Here is a short video on database searching.
What is peer review and what is a peer-reviewed journal? (Note - peer-reviewed journals are also called academic journals, or scholarly journals - don't let the name confuse you; they all refer to the same thing.)
Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Science (Gale OneFile)
Articles from scholarly science journals and science and industry magazines.
ScienceDirect
Journal articles in the health and life sciences.
PubMed (Including MEDLINE)
Combined Search
Citations
You will be using CSE citation for these articles. There is a good guide on CSE style here. Click the tab that says "citing journals" and look for the example "Online Journal Template." This should be the template you will use for any journal article you find in a database.
Note - If you need the article's URL, look for a database tool that says "permalink" or "link." In Academic Search Complete, the link is a little hidden - clicked the curved arrow (share), then the last option says "create link" - this is how you create a link.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Science (Gale OneFile)
Articles from scholarly science journals and science and industry magazines. ScienceDirect
Journal articles in the health and life sciences. PubMed (Including MEDLINE)
Citations and abstracts for articles in health and life science journals from MEDLINE and other sources.
Note: Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.
.Combined Search
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Citations
You will be using CSE citation for these articles. There is a good guide on CSE style here. Click the tab that says "citing journals" and look for the example "Online Journal Template." This should be the template you will use for any journal article you find in a database.
Note - If you need the article's URL, look for a database tool that says "permalink" or "link." In Academic Search Complete, the link is a little hidden - clicked the curved arrow (share), then the last option says "create link" - this is how you create a link.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.