Research Guide for

BIOL 2205 Genetics (Ketel Opheim)

Keywords

The key to researching is using the right words. You will mix and match keywords to find articles. Every time you change your words, you will find different articles.

Some possible keywords for your research are:
  • GAPDH
  • glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate dehydrogenase
  • the common name of your plant
  • the scientific name of your plant
  • cloning
  • PCR
  • plasmid
This is just a small sample of keywords. There may be more!
 
 

For more information on keywords, watch these videos:




 

Learn About Scholarly Publishing

Find Articles

Science Databases (Scholarly Articles, books/book chapters)


Science E-book Collection (Gale)
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.


ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
The Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.

BioOne
Search and access full text and full image articles from over 60 scholarly journals about biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.


Science (Gale OneFile)
A collection of hundreds of science journals


Science Magazine
Online version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.

Medical Databases

MEDLINE/PubMed
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.


PubMed (Including MEDLINE)
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.

PubMed Central (PMC) PMC also contains citations to many biological and medical articles. If the article is not in full text, use the Journal Finder below to find the article.

PMC also contains citations to many biological and medical articles. If the article is not in full text, use the Journal Finder below to find the article.

(Note: Confused about the differences between PubMed, MEDLINE, and PMC? Read this fact sheet.)

Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email
 

 
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Cite Your Sources (APA)

APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.