Research Guide for

CHEM 1001 Chemistry Concepts and Applications (Kaintz)

Find Your Science Article
The library has many databases that can help you locate both scholarly studies and popular science articles. While the database below is not the only science database that the library has, it can provide a great start!

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.


Still stuck? Try this general database but you will need to check to make sure the journal is scientific. This resource might also be useful for finding your "other" source.


Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Find Your News Article
Find your news article in this database:

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.
Is it Popular or Not?
How can we tell if an article is from a popular science magazine, or from a scholarly journal?

Popular magazines tend to be very readable, not contain much jargon or technical terms, and often have a story or narrative that accompanies the article. They tend to summarize or review the results of one or more studies rather than conducting their own research.

Examples: National Geographic, Popular Science, New Scientist, etc.

Scholarly journals often have very dense writing with lots of jargon or tehcnical terms, and the articles in them are usually original studies.

Examples: Journal of Applied Chemistry, Biophysical Chemistry, Behavioral Science, etc.
Developing Keywords
This video is a good intro to library research:

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Libby Picture
Libby Merrill
Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.