Research Guide for

CHEM 1010 Environmental Chemistry (Kaintz)

Open Access (Free) Sources of Information

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Public Library of Science
The Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a nonprofit organization to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.  

How Stuff Works

Scientific American

ScienceNews: Magazine of the Society for Science and the Public

Find an Article from a Major News Organization

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

News (Gale OneFile)
News (Gale OneFile) contains full-text articles from over 1,000 newspapers in the United States and around the world.

Combined Search & Databases List

Extra Credit: Find the Scientific Study

1. Gather as much information as you can. 
  • Do you know the author of the study?
  • Do you know the title of the study?
  • Do you know the year it was published? Are there any clues ("According to a study published a couple of years ago" or "a study that was just published")?  If not use the year the (news article or popular science article was published. It has to be before that year.


2. Search Academic Search Premier for the study use the information from above to locate it

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


3. Can't find it in Academic Search Premier? Try to find it in Google Scholar:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Libby Picture
Libby Merrill
Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.