Search in the databases listed below to find articles on your Children's or Young Adult Literature topic. Each database contains thousands of full-text articles, so be prepared with some good search terms!
Gale Literature
Searches all Gale literature databases at once: Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
This literature database provides substantial information and criticism about many authors and their works.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.
This database of academic sources is useful for finding scholarly articles. Limit your search by discipline (ex. Language & Literature or Edcuation) for best results.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The largest database of articles on education topics.
This education database is useful for finding articles about reading instruction, reading comprehension, and the use of literature in schools.
PsycNET
Articles on psychology topics from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association).
This psychology database is useful for finding articles about child development, language acquisition, and other psychology-related topics.
Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
This database has excellent resources on humanities topics. Select "Literature" as a Research Area for best results.
Gale Literature
Searches all Gale literature databases at once: Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. This literature database provides substantial information and criticism about many authors and their works.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor. This database of academic sources is useful for finding scholarly articles. Limit your search by discipline (ex. Language & Literature or Edcuation) for best results.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The largest database of articles on education topics. This education database is useful for finding articles about reading instruction, reading comprehension, and the use of literature in schools.
PsycNET
Articles on psychology topics from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association). This psychology database is useful for finding articles about child development, language acquisition, and other psychology-related topics.
Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. This database has excellent resources on humanities topics. Select "Literature" as a Research Area for best results.
Journal Title Search
Need a suggestion? Try searching for one of these journals:
Children's Literature "is the annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association. Encouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically based articles that address key issues in the field."
Children's Literature in Education provides "critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience."
Horn Book "includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world."
The Lion and the Unicorn "is a theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture."
Publisher's Weekly provides "news and analyses of book publishing for publishers, booksellers, agents, librarians, writers, educators and people involved in movies, radio and television."
School Library Journal provides "news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries."
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Need a suggestion? Try searching for one of these journals:
Children's Literature "is the annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association. Encouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically based articles that address key issues in the field."
Children's Literature in Education provides "critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience."
Horn Book "includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world."
The Lion and the Unicorn "is a theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture."
Publisher's Weekly provides "news and analyses of book publishing for publishers, booksellers, agents, librarians, writers, educators and people involved in movies, radio and television."
School Library Journal provides "news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries."
Book Search
Picture Books Collection
Browse the Picture Books Collection in the Normandale Library Catalog. The collection consists of hundreds of award winning picture books.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Picture Books Collection
Browse the Picture Books Collection in the Normandale Library Catalog. The collection consists of hundreds of award winning picture books.
These organizations provide information on topics about Children's/Young Adult Literature, reading, and literacy. Look for links on each website that direct you to "Resources" or "Publications."
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Children's Literature Research Collections at the University of Minnesota
Cooperative Children's Book Council (CCBC)
International Reading Association (IRA)
National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Children's Literature Research Collections at the University of Minnesota
Cooperative Children's Book Council (CCBC)
International Reading Association (IRA)
National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.