Research Guides

CHIN 1100 Beginning Chinese (Miskowiec)

Countries and Cultures
CountryWatch Country Reviews
An up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.

CultureWatch is located within CountryWatch and contains information on national cultures - you can access it by going to the top menu, clicking Education and then Culture Watch.

Citing CountryWatch and CultureWatch: http://www.countrywatch.com/home/citation

A to Z the World
Country reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.


INTRODUCTION TO CHINA IN THE 21ST CENTURY
From Daily Life Through History. An overview of Chinese culture in the 21st century.  
 
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Documentary Films
Films On Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 

Kanopy Streaming Videos
Stream documentaries and other videos on many subjects. You can browse by subject or use the search box to enter titles, keywords, subjects, suppliers, and filmmakers.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.



Chinese Fiction
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Avoiding Plagerism
Avoiding Plagiarism (U of WI Madison)
Quoting, paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism. Guide includes helpful examples.

Powered by SubjectsPlus