Research Guide for

CIM 2000 Computer Applications Training Practicum (Drahos)

Main

Find Background Information

Credo Reference
Credo logoArticles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
 

Find Articles

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.


JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.


Looking for more?
Try the Library's Combined Search of article databases, books, etc.
Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 

Find Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.


 

Keywords

Before searching for a topic, you need to generate keywords to use to search the database. Think of synonyms and alternate terms for you topic that people writing on this topic might use. Think of terms that are:
1. Synonyms or alternate terms
2. Broader ideas
3. Narrower ideas
4. Related ideas

Watch this video from the library at California State University at San Bernardino to see how to turn your topic into keywords to search the library databases with.


















 

What is a Scholarly Source?

Scholarly sources sometimes referred to as an academic source, are articles written by experts, scholars or researchers and are published for other experts, scholars, researchers, and students. The articles are published in scholarly journals and the information is often peer-reviewed by experts in that field. When peer-reviewed, the information, and research is evaluated and assessed for quality before it is published. The author and authors are presenting new information to the reader that was usually created by a research study where they collected data through research methods.


 

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Lacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
 

Access Databases from Off Campus

Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

 

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.

MLA Footnotes Information

Find information about MLA footnotes at this link from the MLA Style Center:

Are Notes Compatible with MLA Style?

Evaluate Source Credibility

Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
 
More info about CAPPS pdf