Research Guide for

COMM 1100 Introduction to Human Communication (Cronk)

Main

Videos

Kanopy Streaming Videos

A streaming video service with documentary, educational, and feature films.

Notes: PERSONAL ACCOUNT REQUIRED to watch videos. To create an account on Kanopy, use the orange Visit the Normandale Collection button. If you already have a Kanopy account, sign in using the Login link.

The Library pays a per-view fee for Kanopy. To keep costs down, only use Kanopy for educational purposes.



Films On Demand
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics.

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Articles - broad overviews of topics.

Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.

Credo Reference
Credo logoArticles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.

CQ Researcher - in-depth reporting of current issues.

CQ Researcher
Reports on controversial issues of national importance (health care, public safety, education, environment, etc.). Each report is on a single topic. Helpful as a topic overview. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - collects all types of materials (encyclopedia articles, argumentative essays, academic articles, news stories, audio, video, primary sources) that's grouped by topic.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextTopic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.


JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.

Find Books

Combined Search & Databases List

Database Searching



Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

 

Cite Your Sources (APA)

APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.