Finding data and statistics takes time. Be patient!
The resources on this page are only starting points. Start here and keep exploring.
The resources on this page are only starting points. Start here and keep exploring.
Many government websites include demographic and other statistics:
American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. It includes information about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their home, and more. Click on Data on the left.
Census Bureau of the United States
Statistics on the people and economy of the United States, collected by the Census Bureau. Use the Guided Search.
USA.gov
On USA.gov, you can search millions of web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. USA.gov has the most comprehensive search of government anywhere on the Internet.
Alternatively, find the government department that relates to your topic:
American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. It includes information about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their home, and more. Click on Data on the left.
Census Bureau of the United States
Statistics on the people and economy of the United States, collected by the Census Bureau. Use the Guided Search.
USA.gov
On USA.gov, you can search millions of web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. USA.gov has the most comprehensive search of government anywhere on the Internet.
Alternatively, find the government department that relates to your topic:
- Crime and Law Enforcement: US Department of Justice -- Click on Resources
- Disease: Center for Disease Control
- Education: US Department of Education -- Click on Data & Research.
- More Education: National Center for Education Statistics -- Click on Data & Tools
- Health: US Department of Health and Human Services
- Workplace: US Department of Labor
- Agriculture and Climate: US Department of Agriculture -- Click on Topics
For demographic and social issues data:
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. Click on 'Advanced Search'. Type your topic in the search boxes and select Statistics under Content Type.
CQ Researcher
Reports on controversial issues of national importance (health care, public safety, education, environment, etc.). Each report is on a single topic. Helpful as a topic overview. Use the search box or use the Browse Issues and Browse Reports at the top. After you find a report, look at the bibliography for more sources.
For business and industry statistics and data:
Business Source Premier
Articles from business journals and magazines, company profiles with SWOT analyses, and industry reports.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. Click on 'Advanced Search'. Type your topic in the search boxes and select Statistics under Content Type.CQ Researcher
Reports on controversial issues of national importance (health care, public safety, education, environment, etc.). Each report is on a single topic. Helpful as a topic overview. Use the search box or use the Browse Issues and Browse Reports at the top. After you find a report, look at the bibliography for more sources.For business and industry statistics and data:
Business Source Premier
Articles from business journals and magazines, company profiles with SWOT analyses, and industry reports.
World Health Organization -- Health related information from around the world.
International Monetary Fund -- Trade and economic information. Click on Research.
UN Data
This site searches all the UN's statistical databases (e.g. population, health, crime, environment, labor, etc.) at once.
International Monetary Fund -- Trade and economic information. Click on Research.
UN Data
This site searches all the UN's statistical databases (e.g. population, health, crime, environment, labor, etc.) at once.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Pew Research Center -- Research on many current issues.
Minnesota Resources - Guide containing links to Minnesota-related information and data.
Minnesota Resources - Guide containing links to Minnesota-related information and data.