Research Guides

EAP 1000 Introduction to College (Dean)

About Articles and Databases
The library doesn't just have books. There are also lots of other kinds of materials, including articles from publications available electronically from home. The video below explains where these articles come from and how they are organized in the library.



Reference databases for background information:

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.



Database for finding journal and magazine articles:

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


Database for finding newspaper articles:

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

 
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.


 

General Collection

All kinds of books can be found in the library's general collection. Books in the general collection can be checked out using your student ID card.

Reference Collection

Reference books contain facts and other authoritative information. They are not meant to be read from start to finish. Instead, they can be consulted to find information on a particular topic. Examples of reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias.
?

How to Find Books on the Shelf

Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

   
Libby Picture   
Libby Merrill
Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Learn About the Library
About the Library
Information about library hours, study rooms, the library research computer lab, and contacting the library.

LibraryVocabulary-EAP.docx

This link downloads a copy of the library vocabulary sheet handed out in class. It is a very helpful list of common terms used in college libraries while doing research.
Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

Powered by SubjectsPlus