Japanese Internment Photograph Collections

Artstor
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Daily Life through History
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.


Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums. Search by theme, location, or era. 

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress website contains hundreds of photographs taken of the camps. Many of the photographs were taken by Ansel Adam's at Manzanar. 

Calisphere: University of California
Photographs of Japanese Americans before, during and after internment. 

Anchor Editions
This site is actually selling the photographs of Dorothea Lange for charity. These high-quality scans also make for a good resource. 

 

Researching

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Citing a Digital Image - MLA

Online Visual Art (Photographs, etc):

General Format: Artist's name, Title of artwork, date of creation, Institution and City where the work is housed. Title of Website, URL. Date of access.

Greenspun, Philip. Frozen Yogurt: 6th Avenue and 12th, 1995, Manhattan. Street Photography in New York City, philip.greenspun.com/ny/street-photos. Accessed 9 June 2009.

OSLIS Citation Maker
 

Evaluate Source Credibility

Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf