Find Background Information
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of current issues.
CQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.
If an article you like does not appear in full text, click on the "Find Full Text" link to see if the full text is available in another database.
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search will search many of our databases at the same time. Be specific when searching to get the best results. Use the keywords you brainstormed in class to make your search more specific.
Another way to find articles is to search one database at a time. Try one listed below for an alternative to Combined Search. Remember to use your keywords to get the best results.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.
Ask a Librarian
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.email@example.com
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.