Article & eBook Databases

Academic Search Premier + MegaFILE
Search these two multi-disciplinary databases at once to find even more articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books covering subjects.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

Academic OneFile includes sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


Government & Statistics Websites

Census Bureau of the United States
The United States Census Bureau's central data site for statistics on housing, employment, demographics, business/industry, etc. Includes data from American Factfinder, American Community Survey, and more. 

USA.gov
On USA.gov, you can search millions of web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. USA.gov has the most comprehensive search of government anywhere on the Internet.
On USA.gov, you can search millions of web pages from federal and state government sites.

Pew Research Center
Pew conducts research on many current social, technological, and political issues.


Minnesota Resources
This Normandale Library Research Guide about Minnesota contains links to state and local government and other websites.
Even More Ways to Find Sources
If you're having trouble finding what you're looking for in the chosen databases, try exploring some of our other databases. 

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.


Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 

 
Keyword Video
Videos from Lacey are in the Week 13 module in D2L.

The video below is courtesy of the librarians at the John M. Pfau Library at California State University, San Bernardino.
Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Lacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf