Find Articles
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


Video Tutorial: Finding an article in Expanded Academic ASAP (note the video looks a little different but works in the same way). 
 


Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Video Tutorial: Finding an article in Academic Search Premier 

 
Choose a Topic
Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow. If your topic is too broad, you may find too many articles and books. If your topic is too narrow, you may not find enough research.

To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library.

 
Choose a Topic
Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Journal

Also called "peer-reviewed," is the latest research from experts. The articles in these journals are often very specific, complex and include substantial bibliographies. The research has been reviewed by a committee of experts for validity and impact before publication.

Popular Periodicals

Magazine and newspaper articles, also called "popular press" are written for the general public in a relatively short, easy-to-read format without bibliographies. Because of these aspects, the articles are usually very general and are overviews of events or topics. If you need timely, recent information news and magazine articles are a great place to go.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.