Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Bigalk)

Main

Find Local & Regional Newspaper Articles

Star Tribune, Minneapolis (ProQuest)

Text of articles from the Star Tribune newspaper, 1986 - present.

Note: To view each page of the paper as it appeared in print — with images and ads — see the print layout of the Star Tribune, available for 2008 - 3 months ago.



Pioneer Press, St. Paul (NewsBank)

Text-only articles from Pioneer Press and TwinCities.com (no images).

Note: To view each page of the paper as it appeared in print — with images and ads — see the print layout of the Pioneer Press, available for 2018 - present.


Note: 1988-

ProQuest News & Newspapers

News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.

Find Resources


Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.


JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.


Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.


 
Need more options? Not finding what you need? Try a different database!

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Choose your Topic

Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow. If your topic is too broad, you may find too many articles and books. If your topic is too narrow, you may not find enough research.

To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library.

Google Vs Library Resources

Search Using Keywords

Watch the Northwestern University Libraries video to learn how to use your topic question to come up with keywords (search terms).

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Keyword Worksheet

Evaluate Source Credibility

Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf
 

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.

Access Our Databases from Anywhere

Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.