Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Current Issues and Hot Topics
Reports on controversial issues of national importance (health care, public safety, education, environment, etc.). Each report is on a single topic. Helpful as a topic overview.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
Newspapers, Magazines, and Academic Journals
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
Academic Journals Only
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and more.
New York Times Website (Full Access) - Access all articles and multimedia on the NYTimes.com website or through the New York Times mobile apps, including the Spanish and Chinese editions. Note: First create an account at the link above using your Normandale email address and register for a yearly pass. Then log in to the NYTimes.com website or app for full access. See our instructions for more detailed info.
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Find Minnesota City Information
The League of Minnesota Cities keeps a database of city contact information. Select your city of interest from the list, click "Search," and click on the city name to display the web address of the official city website.
Tip: In general, city websites follow the web address format www.ci.city-name.mn.us.
Find Minnesota County Information
The Association of Minnesota Counties keeps this up-to-date list of links to county websites.
Tip: In general, county websites follow the web address format www.co.county-name.mn.us.
Minnesota Public Health Data Access Portal
Environmental and health data (cancer, immunization, air quality, etc.) for Minnesota and its counties. Organized by topic and region with customizable data tables.
Find Minnesota State Information
Minnesota.gov, formerly known as Northstar, is the state of Minnesota's web portal. It links to all the Minnesota state agencies, the governor, and legislature. There is lots of local and state information.
Minnesota State Legislature
Legislature website includes Minnesota laws and statutes, the status of bills considered each year, information on House and Senate members and committees, and more.
Minnesota Links to the World
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library compiled this list of links to Minnesota-based state agencies, nonprofits, advocacy groups, and other organizations by topic.
Includes transit plans and statistics.
Ask a Librarian
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.firstname.lastname@example.org
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.