ENGC 1101 College Writing (Reid)

Use these databases to search for broad topics in the areas of student success and life success like study skills, multitasking, time management, test anxiety, money management, positive relationships etc.

Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.


Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Use these databases to search for more specific topics in student success and life success. For example, college student time management, college student study habits, etc. Limit your results to magazines, newspapers, and reference articles.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.

ProQuest News & Newspapers

News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.

These databases will have information on jobs and careers.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center - for career exploration and planning. Research professions and industries, watch career Q & A videos, search for scholarships, and more.

• A to Z list of careers - List of careers within Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Salem Careers (Salem Press) - A collection of e-books profiling many different careers.

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Combined Search


Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

ProQuest News & Newspapers

News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.

Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.

 

Websites with Articles About Pop Culture

New York Times Popular Culture Section
TV, movies, pop music, and more.

Note - First you will need to create an account with the New York Times website and register for a yearly pass provided by the Normandale Library. After you register, use the email and password you registered with to log in to the New York Times website. Follow these registration instructions.

NPR's Pop Culture Happy Hour
Pop Culture Happy Hour serves you recommendations and commentary on the buzziest movies, TV, music, books, videogames and more. 

AV Club 
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed. 

Google News
Google search of news and culture websites. Type in the title of a TV show, movie, videogame, etc. and it should appear as a "topic" you can click on. Especially good for more obscure shows and newer shows. Try to find articles on the above 2 websites first, before looking here.

 

Websites Collecting Reviews of Movies, Video Games, Television Shows

Rotten Tomatoes
Only use critic reviews! Use for movies and TV.

Metacritic
Only use critic reviews! Use for video games, movies, TV, and albums.

Internet Movie Database (IMDb) Look for "Critic" under the Reviews section to find articles. Use for movies and TV.