Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Points of View Reference Center
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
CQ Researcher (Topic List)
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources.
Polling the Nations
Public opinion polls conducted in the U.S. and around the world by news and polling organizations on social, economic, and political issues.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
New York Times Website (Full Access) - Access all articles and multimedia on the NYTimes.com website or through the New York Times mobile apps, including the Spanish and Chinese editions. Note: First create an account at the link above using your Normandale email address and register for a yearly pass. Then log in to the NYTimes.com website or app for full access. See our instructions for more detailed info.
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start. Points of View Reference Center
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. CQ Researcher (Topic List)
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources. Polling the Nations
Public opinion polls conducted in the U.S. and around the world by news and polling organizations on social, economic, and political issues. ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
New York Times Website (Full Access) - Access all articles and multimedia on the NYTimes.com website or through the New York Times mobile apps, including the Spanish and Chinese editions. Note: First create an account at the link above using your Normandale email address and register for a yearly pass. Then log in to the NYTimes.com website or app for full access. See our instructions for more detailed info.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.